We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, exceptional friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Monterey Package
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, exceptional friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Only stayed one night on road trip down west coast but enjoyed every minute.

The most memorable part of our stay was the exceptionally friendly staff who were genuinely interested in serving you and helping you from concierge, bell services, reception, coffee shop, and sports bar. Couldn't have asked for more attentive service, thank you marriott!

We had 2 double beds in our room with sea view on 7 floor.

Hot tub and pool are very nice

May be harsh but the only reason I haven't given an 'excellent' was that one of the double mattresses had seen better days, it needs replacing. If I had been staying longer it would have been very uncomfortable.

Would recommend this hotel to friends

Room Tip: High floor overlooking sea, not pool, great sun rise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I'm delighted to hear that our staff could make your trip great. Thank you for choosing our location for your Monterey family trip.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    294
    119
    43
    15
See reviews for
163
226
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've been a Marriott reward member for years and it is because you can always count on each hotel to have great service and amenities. Monterey was no different. Great room with a view of the ocean, cool bar and a good place to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I really appreciate your loyalty, thank you so much.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lovely clean hotel, comfortable beds nice pool with jacuzzi and outdoor lounging area. Ideal location for walking to Fisherman's Wharf, (try the Old Fisherman's Grotto restaurant) and a 20 minute walk to Cannery Row and other seafront activities. The Montery Cafe claims to serve THE best breakfast in Monterey and whilst we weren't there long enough to try everywhere it certainly would be hard to beat! Tuesday night has the Farmers Market in the street next to the hotel which was well worth a visit. The staff were very helpful and even made our booking for our next hotel for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I really appreciate hearing about your experience and am glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, stayed on 2 nd floor with the pool and jacuzzi which was very nice after being in the car all day. This was very comfortable with good shower facilities, clean and fresh linens. located near everything including the free coach that takes you around monterey. The fishermans wharf is nearby, along with the beach and lots of bars and restaurants. This is a good standard of hotel and I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would come again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great Location, easy and enjoyable walk to the wharf (be ready for free chowder samples) and to beaches, harbor and attractions.

Great staff - very helpful and enjoyable, they seem to really enjoy their jobs, good breakfast (jean is a delightful waitress)

If visiting the aquarium make sure to get tickets at the front desk it allows you to walk right in ... no standing in any lines. OUTSTANDING Services, we felt like Royals. It is a little walk but very pleasant to the aquarium and there is a free trolley to and from. The Aquarium was very impressive. We went early and then went back to hotel and returned in the evening, avoiding the big crowds.

The pool is nothing to write home about approx 3 feet deep but it was nice to float around and relax.

Did I mention the great location...several restraunts and shops with in short enjoyable walks.

If staying for one or two nights there is low cost parking a block away.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs the sea gulls can be load in the morning. The hotel trys to minimize with dete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Ah yes, we do have a fantastic location that each of us appreciates coming to every day. I'm glad you got to experience the Aquarium, it's truly a gem. Thank you for staying with us and for your review.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utsunomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

How bad can you be when you wake up in Monterey in a nice bed with nice people around you? Walk down the street and eat at Rosene's and have dinner at the Monterey Fish House. You will thank your stomach for leading you there. This is a good hotel with a great location and nice surroundings. walk everywhere

Room Tip: I like the upper floors and will pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you'll return.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice Marriott hotel, rooms were up-to-date, clean and comfortable. Valet parking was reasonable at $24 daily. We did not eat any meals at the hotel. The pool and hot tub were outdoors so it was a tad bit cool, but they were both well-maintained and good size. Fitness center was also in good condition with a nice open view to the pool deck. They have a single washing machine and dryer set in case you need to do laundry, but be prepared to wait in line!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for brining your family to stay with us, I appreciate your review. I hope you'll stay with us again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#17 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.