We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started with disappointment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Started with disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

First let me say, I like staying at the Marriott and have stayed at quite a few in the Bay Area. This location was fine and the amenities were the standard expected for Marriott. I am a rewards member but was disappointed to find out at check-in that I would not be receiving rewards points for this stay due to the fact that I booked through an internet site, even though the rep I spoke with at the site said I would receive them at check-in. At least the lady at the front desk was friendly when telling me the points were a no-go. I learned a lesson and will not book a room through internet sites again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment. In order to ensure you get your points, you can book on the internet through our website http://www.marriott.com/mryca or call us directly at 1-831-649-4234

Thank you for being a loyal guest, I hope to see you again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    310
    128
    45
    16
See reviews for
174
239
25
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding weekend with many other couples in May, 2014. Check in was so easy, and the staff could not have been nicer. Our room was quite large and overlooked the street. The only issue that we had with our room was how loud it was. We could hear our neighbors above, below and on both sides very, very clearly. Didn't make for the best sleeping conditions, but the bed was very comfortable, so that was a definite plus. The location of the hotel is truly perfect. Walking distance to the Aquarium, Cannery Row and so many fun restaurants and beaches, etc. The rehearsal dinner for the wedding was on the top floor of the hotel, and WHAT A VIEW! So beautiful, and such a fantastic space. Overall, a great stay, just wish the walls were thicker!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and on higher floors are MUCH quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am delighted to hear about your stay, thank you for your comments. It's great when guests reiterate how close we are to everything in Monterey - and even walking distance. I hope you'll stay with us again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stay in lots of Marriott hotels with work and was here with the family on points. Great location, better than average staff and rooms , pool etc as good as you would expect in a Marriott of this type. No exec lounge but gave free breakfast vouchers for 2 instead.

I have been here before and would happy stay again

Room Tip: Get a bay view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for being a loyal guest. I'm delighted to hear that you'd stay with us again.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in June 2014. We are silver elite guests. Upon arrival, our room was not yet ready, so Jing at reception arranged for a complimentary upgrade to a stellar room. She was most gracious and friendly. Our room was immaculate and well designed for comfort, with outstanding bay view. Jaime, who appears to do double duty as bell captain and concierge while we were there, was very efficient in helping us settle in, and gave us lots of pointers on where to go to dine, get to the Wharf, get the free trolley, etc. He is the best! Because it was our anniversary, Virginia arranged for chocolate covered strawberries as a complimentary amenity. We utilized room service several times and were very happy with the prompt delivery and quality. The pool was in a lovely setting, but a bit cool while we were there. The valet parking is a bit expensive, but handy as the closest public parking was a little distance away. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, but Jing and Jaime were outstanding. We will not hesitate to return and take advantage of all the hotel has to offer: location, views, comfort, and terrific staff.

Room Tip: bay view rooms on high levels recommended. We were on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for being loyal guests and for telling me about your experience. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful time and will be sure to let the staff know how much you appreciate them.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If your are travelling with kids - you will be in good company here. Standard rooms are a bit small - but functional. Swimming pool is perfect for kids - 4' deep the whole length - most kids can stand if they are not comfortable swimmer. If you are an elite member - the breakfast buffet is great and $6 for kids - otherwise there are a lot of good places to eat nearby. At that is why you stay here - there are a lot of places nearby -- food and attraction - and even parking if you don't feel like dropping $25 for the valet --

enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It's great to hear that your family had a nice stay. Thank you for being a loyal Elite Member. I hope you'll return.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Only stayed one night. Nice room. Very conveniently located to trolley, stores and restaurants. Very friendly staff. Room was ready by noon which was a plus. Valet parking for a fee. Always enjoy marriott hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal guest, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After having a really pleasant stay with excellent service I left my engagement ring on the bedside table in my room.
Not noticing until the next day after we checked out, I contacted the hotel and to my surprise it was handed in. Not only did the hotel courier my ring to the next destination with no trouble, there was also no charge. Thanks you to the honest staff member who handed it in and the excellent service from the Marriott.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we're glad that we were able to get your ring back to you so quickly. Thank you for staying with us.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.