We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a lovely huge room overlooking the pool/jacuzzi. You cannot beat the location. A 5 minute walk takes you to the Wharf. There's a council car park nearby that costs only $10 (I think) a day so you can avoid the valet parking costs, although it does mean you can't go in and out.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel. We didn't really use the facilities (bar, pool, etc) but in terms of room comfort and location - fab.

Best of all, when I stupidly left my favourite top in the wardrobe and only realised 2 days later, they couldn't have been more helpful. Rick, the loss prevention officer, was wonderful - tracked it down, sent it to my next hotel. I cannot thank him enough.

We walked to the Cannery Row area both nights. It's a fair walk but the path along the shorefront is so lovely, with the seals, otters and sealions to spot! Highly recommend Hula's restaurant - absolutely wonderful. Especially on 'wine down Wednesdays' when wine is half price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, and I'm delighted that Rick did everything he could to return your favorite top. Likewise, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and perfect location in downtown Monterey. Thank you for sharing your review, and I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    336
    135
    48
    16
See reviews for
187
247
26
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Currently in our stay, so I will update as we experience more. Good location, helpful front desk staff upon check in. We got in late, so there were no rooms with a view left and no upgrade available (gold member).

Cons - No concierge lounge, no safe in room, and our rooms has a fake wall between the beds and the bathroom area.

Pros - I do like that the location is convenient to everything but not in the middle of the touristy part of town, at least it feels this way. Very nice staff thus far. Breakfast voucher option (haven't used it though)

Gym is better than the average.

Valet seems a bit steep considering rates at nearby garage, but that is expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I'm happy that you are enjoying our wonderful location in Monterey, and I look forward to receiving more of your feedback once your stay is complete. Safes are available upon request, and I apologize that we did not make this clear when you checked in. Please do not hesitate to ask our managers or staff if there is anything that we can do to make your stay with us more convenient. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Marriott is about a block from the Wharf area, and several blocks from Cannery Row, which was a nice fit for us, as we didn't particularly care for the Cannery Row area. Good location, nice room, and the staff were really great to us. In particular Jamie gave us some great recommendations, and when we were lacking wine glasses and a corkscrew to enjoy a special bottle of wine we had gotten in Sonoma, Liza at the bar was happy to accommodate our needs, and helped to make a special memory for us. Definitely take a walk on the water, lots of harbor seals, and we even spotted a hummingbird or two. There is a valet fee, but you will find that at any of the hotels in that area.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor, in the courtyard area, and it was a good fit for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Jamie and Liza know that they helped make your stay particularly special. All of us at Marriott are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice hotel close to the beach (5-10 min walk). The facilities for a business event were good. Room/bathroom were nice and clean. The aquarium is not very close but shouldn't be too far even for walking there. I think Monterey has a shuttle like bus but not sure if it connects the hotel to other attractions.

There is an area near the hotel with a lot of shops and usually some fair like events on weekends. It was very lively there.

The breakfast was awesome with a lot of options. We used the valet parking and those guys are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your nearby "stay-cation" in Monterey. We're proud of our central location for easy access to some of the best local attractions, and I'm glad that you could make use of this. If you had a comfortable night's sleep and a delicious breakfast, then I couldn't be happier. We hope to see you again on your next visit. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed 1 night in June 13. Great location, good rooms, modern decor, free gym and pool. Only some minor gripes:

we thought it was free parking - it isn't, it valet parking and it isn't free
no free wifi - an anachronism in 2013

For the price we paid, I expected these to be included in the price. If you are happy with the price and what's included, its a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very happy that enjoyed our well-appointed accommodations and our wonderful location in downtown Monterey. Unfortunately, we have no control over in-room wireless fees since it is a corporate decision. However, I hope you could make use of the complimentary WiFi that we offer in the Lobby. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were treated to a nice upgrade so that helped make this a nice stay. The staff seem very efficient and friendly. The location is great and the room nice and clean. The breakfast was nicely done, but as with most chain hotels somewhat overpriced. The concierge seemed knowledgeable about the area and quickly got an answer to a question we asked. Just a few steps from the pier area with shops, restaurants and sea lions and sea otters!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Our dedicated staff members love to upgrade our guests whenever they can, and I'm happy to hear that they could do it for you. I'm also glad that you could make the most of our unbeatable location in downtown Monterey while enjoying the comfort of our well-appointed guest rooms. Thank you for your wonderful review, and I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The staff was friendly from the front desk to the housekeeping. Felt terrible when I spilled a ton of water in the elevator lobby on our floor, but the housekeeper was as nice as could be when I confessed my clumsiness.

The location is pretty good. Easy walk to piers and things on the water, as well as restaurants (see my review of Restaurant 1833 - yum!) and coffee shops downtown. Rooms are a comfortable size and clean. Also, it's one of the biggest, if not the biggest building in Monterey, so easy to find your way back from wherever you are walking.

Criticisms: bed not the most comfortable; pool area in not real inviting and kind of sterile feeling, hotel could use an update.

Worth a stay if you can get it for a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Accidents happen, so please don't worry about the water! I'm very glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable, convenient, and friendly. We want our guests to leave with a positive experience in all three of these categories, and I'm happy to hear that we succeeded. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.