We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect from a full service Marriott” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what you expect from a full service Marriott”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is without a doubt in the best possible location of Monterey, however that's where the advantages end.

The room is average in terms of size for this area, however the TV is painfully small and most of the channels had a great deal of fuzziness or pixilation to the point of some cable channels simply not working for minutes on end.

There is no mini-fridge so I figured I would walk down to ice/vending area and get a bottle of water, and fill my ice bucket. After a long, long walk to the area I discovered the vending machines were out of water.

I wanted to order room service, so I opened up the standard issue Marriott binder and opened it up to services, scrolled to "room service" and it said "see separate room service tab"... Well, there was no room service tab so my room was completely without a menu to order room service.

I am a platinum Marriott member, and frequent Monterey. It is my suggestion that you consider The Portolo Hotel next door, I have stayed there and find it to be vastly superior to the Marriott, and even though I cannot collect any rewards points there, it will be where I stay from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate that you're a Platinum Member. Thank you for bringing your concerns to us. We've brought them to the attention of our management staff. Should you be in the area again please let us know, we'd like to be able to make things up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    310
    128
    45
    16
See reviews for
174
239
25
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is a great spot right in downtown. You can easily walk to the wharf and lots of nice spots close to the hotel. We usually stay a little out of town when visiting but it was nice to be right in the middle of everything. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed the Downtown Monterey experience! Thank you for the great review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Usually I'm not really that picky about hotels and don't write a lot of hotel reviews. Overall I liked the hotel, it was very clean, the location was great, room was fine, though we found it a bit sterile. But we were annoyed and disappointed by the fact that as soon as we entered the hotel, we could not get any internet service at all on my cell phone, not just no wi-fi, no service at all. Mind you I could get service all over Monterey including in the lobbies of other hotels and directly outside the Marriott, but as soon as we walked into the lobby, no service. i guess they must block it somehow so that we have to pay $14.95 a day. Plus when I Inquired about this I was told different things by different staff, very annoying. I just feel this is nickel and diming the guests and is a petty policy. Given a choice, I would't stay here again due to this policy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello, we apologize for any confusion and aren't sure why you didn't get internet service in the lobby and the common areas as this is offered to our guests without a charge. We will assure to remind all of our staff of this, thank you for brining it to our attention. We hope you'll come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good location for convention center and Fisherman's Wharf, adjacent to the pedestrian walks around the historic area, and coastal bikeway. Check-in was polite and quick. The hotel has valet parking only, at $20 per day. There was a public parking garage one block away for $10/day, and another public garage two blocks away for $7/day, both an easy walk and well-lit at night.

Pros: It was quiet, had comfortable beds with good white linens, and the window opened. There was no safe for valuables, and no microwave oven, although there was a refrigerator. For work, there was a desk with lamp and adjustable chair.

Cons: Carpets not too clean; I stepped on crusty hunks of what appeared to be dried-out deli meats or something gross. The floor tiles in the bathroom were also old and scuffed. The sink was in the main carpeted part of the room, separated by a divider that stopped two feet short of the ceiling. This is a problem, as there were only bright lights for the sink, and no "night light" or other option. Those bright lights were a real sleep-killer for any other occupants of the room. A large mirror was on the wall opposite the bright lights, causing the brightness to be reflected directly into the face of a sleeper in the bed. Bad placement. There were only two decaf coffee packets for the single-serve coffeemaker in the room. I think the idea is to make you have to take the elevator to the Starbucks in the lobby, and buy a $3 cup of regular coffee. Not very hospitable.

There is no wifi in the room, unless you pay for it each day. Marriott should get over this policy, as free wifi is available in the lowliest chain motels. It's just nickel and diming the guest, and annoying. Also, on checking out, we found that they had charged us for 3 days of wifi, although we had only requested it for one day.

There are lots of good and also inexpensive restaurants all around the area and on the wharf. For breakfast we walked a block to Plumes Cafe for steel-cut oatmeal, yogurt, fresh delicious coffee (and $1.95/cup), juice, or a breakfast quiche or egg sandwich. Wonderful and friendly vibe.

Room Tip: Ask to face Monterey Bay for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We've shared your experience with rest of the management staff as well. We would have been happy to bring you some non-decaf coffee for your room coffeemaker, just an oversight. Next time please let us know. Also, internet access is available for free in all of the common areas like the lobby for your convenience. We hope that you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here to escape the southern CA heat, and we were greatly rewarded. The room was comfortable and nicely done. It was an easy walk to many places in town. The staff was great. We had a little problem with sound in the early morning, and they took care of it right away. Cliff at the front desk was a true professional, made us feel right at home. Great customer service. My teens loved it so much, they ask to go back there again.

The breakfast buffet had a great selection that pleased even the picky eaters in my family. My teens loved it so much, they've asked to go back there again.

The only thing that was a letdown was the pool. It was about 3 feet deep. I guess it's enough for swimming laps, but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We're happy to hear that you could cool off with us in Northern California! Thank you for the great review. If your picky eaters were satisfied, then we feel pretty accomplished :) We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Cliff, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nighs as part of our California road trip for our honeymoon. We had paid for a sea view room but we were upgraded to an elite room, on getting to our room we had a card, chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of bubbly. This was such a nice touch and got our stay of on the perfect note. We used the valet parking, when you wanted your car we just phoned down from our room and by the time we got down our car was there waiting. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Would happily recommend a stay here, make sure you go for a bay view room, we were on the 9th floor and the view was amazing,

Room Tip: Bay view room, hugest floor possible, we were 9th which is the highest,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Congratulations! We're honored that you chose to stay with us on your honeymoon, and we're so happy that we could help make it special. Thank you for the great review, and we hope to see you again on your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February. Overall it was very nice. Exceptionally clean and comfortble. The staff was very cordial and helpful. The location was great as we were able to walk to many of the nearby attractions

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're delighted to hear that our staff helped make your stay a great one! We hope you enjoyed exploring the surrounding area in Monterey, and we hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.