We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Monterey Package
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Love the location of the Monterey Marriott. We stayed there for our anniversary and used our points and platinum elite status, and we were upgraded to one of their best suites. I have to say the suite wasn't that great, but they are in the middle of upgrading and the pictures look really nice. The hotel is in downtown and its easy to walk anywhere downtown. We loved walking around downtown. We could walk to fishermans wharf which was also very cool. The one big negative was the lack of parking unless you paid $20 a night for valet. But we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    294
    119
    43
    15
See reviews for
163
226
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean, efficient typical Marriott. Rooms and service are very good. However, when one goes to Monterey/Carmel one does not eat in the hotel. Too many great restaurants in the area.


What's with the minimum number of characters? I have nothing more to say which is pertinent.
Blah, blah, blah, blah!!

Room Tip: I have stayed there several times. I don't see any particular advantage to any specific room lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our time here, but did not get out to explore much. We only had one night. The hotel was nice and clean, the staff courteous and helpful. We had a great view of the bay which was perfect. We walked to the Pier and enjoyed drinks and food.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Monterey Marriott for our anniversary. We booked the hotel online through Marriott Rewards. The hotel was in a great location. We walked to everything. The valet service was great, very helpful. The check in was so smooth. The person who checked us in made sure all of our requests had been accommodated. The rooms and hotel are being renovated. The room was nice and had a great view. The room service was quick and the food was good. The staff that we came into contact with was great and very friendly. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'm a bit slow writing this but stayed here 1 week ago and it was fabulous! Everything from the valets & Bell service to the accommodation. The location is awesome 1blk off the wharfs 1block from many restaurants & shopping.

The concierge was very helpful as was the valet when I needed to ail a package. Saved me money with their advice plus I found an amazing little bakery! Paris Bakery just a few blocks away.

Even with a large prescience for a conference the hotel was quiet. They ate updating many areas as well.

Service is one of the main reasons we love Marriott.

Did not utilize the the spa or restaurant service on site as there were too many places we wanted to try locally.

The gym & pool were nice clean. The pool is outdoors & heated which s always a plus.

Recommend if you are going to be in Monterey!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was very upset by their treatment of a disabled person. The hotel site says that the only parking is onsite, is valet, and is $20 per day! I asked if handicapped parking was available and the head of the valets said very curtly that I could park at the city lot 3 blocks away! WHAT? 3 blocks for a handicapped person. Then he was quick to point out that I could pay the $20 and they would wisk my car away and return it when I needed it. While that is true of valet parking, I am on a budget and an extra $40 would pay for meals! So I made the drive to Monterey and drove into the valet area. When I was just about to get out of my car, I noticed a handicapped parking space right across the street. When I asked the valet if I was seeing it properly, he said "oh yes, we all know it's there". I got back in my car and drove across the street and parked. So to any handicapped person going to Monterey.....be aware of that spot and know that any metered space or any space without a meter is free to those displaying the handicapped placard.
Now on to the hotel. My colleague and I had payed for an upgraded room with an ocean view and I had called ahead to be sure we were going to get 2 double beds giving my confirnation number. When we arrived we found that we were assigned to a king bed room. So changing us to 2 doubles caused us to be downgraded 3 floors!!! Yes, we had an ocean view but I would rather have been on the 8th floor with the view instead of the 5th floor. Also the hotel is undergoing renovation and there is plenty of noise after 8am! Be warned. Also in a double room there was only 1 comfortable chair and 1 desk chair. So one of us had to "relax" in a desk chair. The hotel is in a nice location and the convention center is convenient with an overhead bridge. But there were not enough chairs for people eating breakfast. We had to sit outside before dawn in the fog to eat. I would think a hotel like this with lots of experience would be better prepared. So average but would like it to have been better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location . The staff took pride in their work . There was a remodel going on so things weren't perfect but service made up for any inconvenience . The location was a short walk from the wharf and a beautiful walking trail . We were there for a convention , the presidents dinner took place on the 10th floor which overlooked the marina and bay . The area also offers some great hiking and biking trails .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#17 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.