We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Save Saved
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Aquarium Package
Ranked #16 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Princeton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What can I say it's a Marriott! Lovely hotel, lobby and room. Large room --nicely decorated. Good restaurants. Situated right in the center of anything you would want to see. Walking distance from the water and boardwalk shops and restaurants.
Perfect place to stay if you're in town for the Jazz Festival. Only minutes from "17 mile drive" and Cannery Row.

Everyone from the concierge to the valets make you feel welcome. Each time I approached the door to leave the doorman would literally run to open the door for me. Each time I returned everyone at the front desks would call out, "welcome back!"

An extra attraction is that the hotel is a couple blocks from a Starbucks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    270
    112
    42
    15
See reviews for
146
213
23
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Perfect location, can walk to almost everything but if you need to drive it's not far. The downtown area has almost everything needed for a nice stay. Great service from the minute we arrived to the minute we left, these employees like working there and it shows. The valet parking is a little pricey ($20) but they do have a self park for $7 with no in and out privileges. They have Wi Fi in the public spaces but not in your room. This Marriott do not have the Marriott beds I am used to but still had comfortable sleep. Room is average decor, clean and spacious. The only down side to our stay were inconsiderate guests who let their door slam going in and out of their rooms at all hours. That is not a Marriot issue it's the guests who stayed on 6th floor and had no basic consideration for others guests. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Met all expectations one would have from a Marriott. Warm, friendly service from the valets and bellmen, better than what we got at the JW Marriott in SF. Good location, I liked that it was away from the hubbub of Cannery Row. But if you want to go there it is a pretty long walk. The room was fine, but the bathtub and tiles were old and needed to be updated. Overall, it worked well as base for visiting Big Sur and Hearst Castle. I highly recommend Montrio Bistro for dinner a two minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I traveled to the Monterey Marriott to spend some time in Monterey and also Carmel. The Monterey Marriott has a great location with easy access to Carmel and highway 101. Beverly the concierge was excellent and a pleasure to meet. She had great ideas on what to do and where to eat and truly cared about our stay. The front desk associates, bellman and Doorman were also helpful, outgoing and sincere along with the two bartenders we interacted with.

We both highly recommend the Monterey Marriott. You will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view but know they are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel itself was nice and so were the facilities. However, having only a valet service option to park at the hotel which costs $20 was a little excessive. I would understand somewhere in a large city like San Fran/LA etc, but for Monterey...really? Also, internet was $15 to use. I think that we are passed that point in technology and communications to charge so much for the use of internet in any hotel. I've been to high end hotels which charge less. Once again, it is just a Marriott and in Monterey...you would think they would service more to their customer base. Would likely not stay here again due to the extra costs in amenities.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the higher floors for a view of the bay...after all, you ARE paying for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This property is in the downtown business district. If you like walking, all the major attractions are quite nearby - Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The rates here are reasonable and valet parking is effortless. The Army Museum is also nearby and worth a visit. There is a concierge desk to help plan your day. A full size 11 ft deep pool is in the center of the building. It's exposed to the sky and is surrounded by nicely padded lounge chairs and coffee tables. If you want to take a harbor cruise or whale watch the pier is very close across the highway but be careful crossing this busy road. My room was very clean and up to date.

Room Tip: Ocean view room are available but again this is downtown - not on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#17 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.