We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice family get-away in stylish, quiet hotel"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Nice family get-away in stylish, quiet hotel"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I looked at several reviews of properties on the Monterey peninsula and went with Mariposa Inn and Suites because we liked the location away from the immediate downtown area and the online pictures looked nice. The price was also reasonable for the value. We checked in around 10 pm and the desk clerk was obviously not thrilled to be working that late, but everyone else we encountered during the 2 night stay was friendly and helpful. I liked that there was a sign at the desk declaring zero-tolerance for any partying.
The King Executive suite was like an extra long hotel room with a bathroom in the center. This gave the effect of two separate areas. The front area had a couch with the refrigerator, microwave, and a TV. The rear area had the king bed, another TV and a gas fireplace. Inside our room, the decor was modern and stylish and it was pretty clean. A couple of exceptions would be that the bathroom ceiling fan needed vacuuming and several areas on the walls looked dirty. The space was pretty well laid out. There was also a small balcony which overlooked an outdoor seating area with a fire pit.
The free breakfast was a nice perk, although it did not include cooked foods like eggs, sausage or potatoes. It was served in a small room, near the outside patio area and we had a wonderful time swimming and relaxing in the hot tub. The pool seemed to be salt water and the area was clean and nicely landscaped.
We liked the way our room, 306, was inside the "hotel" part of the property. A key was necessary to access the building and then each room. Other parts of the property were "motel" style, with access directly from the outside.
We wanted to drive down past Big Sur to the Julia Pfeiffer State park and had even considered staying in Big Sur or Carmel. We walked around Monterey from the Cannery area to the Wharf and found that area to be picturesque and full of fun things to see and do. I was quite pleased with our choice to stay at Mariposa Inn and Suites in Monterey!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the "hotel" part of the property, that don't back to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    221
    88
    28
    33
See reviews for
158
291
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location just off main road. Large shopping centre just across road. Room exceeded expectations with separate living area. Beautiful decked area out front leading down to pool and jacuzzi. Free parking, wifi, computer and printer at reception. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We always go to monterey for a little bit of get away from our daily stress and we pick this hotel because they had great pics online. Front desk needs to be more friendly and upbeat. We went to our room did not look around much because we were headed out for dinner. When we got back we notice the entry light did not work and we said no big deal and then we looked and the bathroom and shower had tons of mold. It was late so we didn't bother with it. Refrigerator was super loud too. We slipped ok. There jacuzzi was nice but it had a funky smell to it. Setting area with fire pit so also disgusting because of all the birds poops all over the seats. So that was not inviting. I told the front desk about our issues and all she did is she wrote it down and ask me if I wanted a receipt.

Room Tip: Do not believe all the pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for 1 night.
This hotel was part of a package holiday that I was taking so I did not choose it myself, but I would definitely stay here again, if I was in the Monterery/Carmel area.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool/spa. Great room, with separate tv space and bedroom area. Room was very clean and well furnished, even had a fireplace in the corner, under the TV. Air-conditioning worked a treat too. Free Wi-Fi always appreciated.
Bathroom was nice, even if it got a little too hot after a shower, as one of the lights acted as a heater.
Breakfast was located on the ground floor. Standard fayre here, however everything was served on paper plates.
Location was great too, Del Monte Shopping Centre was right across the road, Monterey was a 2 mile drive, and Carmel-by-the-Sea was about 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed only one night on a drive down the coast but we were very happy with the hotel. The room was huge and clean, breakfast was ok with the standard continental but with a fresh waffle machine. Lady on the desk was friendly and helpful hobbling around on a strapped up leg :-) not much more to say as we were only here to sleep but we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

- king size bed which is good for family with young kids
- very near to old fisherman wharf
- no elevator for some rooms if travelers with big and heavy suitcase
- free wifi which is good
- unfriendly front desk staff when late Check in

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My room was right beside the main road and all kind of cacophony can be heard. It was close to the summer and our room has no air-conditioning. As noted elsewhere in other reviews, the room is really tiny. Booked through Priceline and cost is approximately $130 USD.

Pros
- Free internet
- Free cold breakfast

Cons
- Tiny room
- my room has no air conditioning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#31 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.