We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quite in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Limerick
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peace and Quite in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for 1 night.
This hotel was part of a package holiday that I was taking so I did not choose it myself, but I would definitely stay here again, if I was in the Monterery/Carmel area.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool/spa. Great room, with separate tv space and bedroom area. Room was very clean and well furnished, even had a fireplace in the corner, under the TV. Air-conditioning worked a treat too. Free Wi-Fi always appreciated.
Bathroom was nice, even if it got a little too hot after a shower, as one of the lights acted as a heater.
Breakfast was located on the ground floor. Standard fayre here, however everything was served on paper plates.
Location was great too, Del Monte Shopping Centre was right across the road, Monterey was a 2 mile drive, and Carmel-by-the-Sea was about 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    191
    64
    20
    24
See reviews for
129
245
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed only one night on a drive down the coast but we were very happy with the hotel. The room was huge and clean, breakfast was ok with the standard continental but with a fresh waffle machine. Lady on the desk was friendly and helpful hobbling around on a strapped up leg :-) not much more to say as we were only here to sleep but we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

- king size bed which is good for family with young kids
- very near to old fisherman wharf
- no elevator for some rooms if travelers with big and heavy suitcase
- free wifi which is good
- unfriendly front desk staff when late Check in

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My room was right beside the main road and all kind of cacophony can be heard. It was close to the summer and our room has no air-conditioning. As noted elsewhere in other reviews, the room is really tiny. Booked through Priceline and cost is approximately $130 USD.

Pros
- Free internet
- Free cold breakfast

Cons
- Tiny room
- my room has no air conditioning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I spent a girl's weekend here with two friends. The hotel isn't on the water, but it's only an 8 minute drive away. And, on the plus side, its right across the street from the open air mall with great shopping. Our room had two queen beds with a patio and a fireplace. Also a fridge and microwave. The continental breakfast did the trick, but was pretty heavy on the breads. The hottub was a plus after a chilly early summer day spent at the beach. The firepits and couches are a nice touch, but you might have to ask the front desk to light them for you. All in all, is recommend and be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here whilst we visited Monteray, Carmel and drove the fantastic "17 Mile Drive". It was a good enough motel but a little expensive for how average it was. Some of the staff were very unhelpful and curt. This was a pity because others were very pleasant ant helpful. If you are thinking of visiting this area, do your research because there are many similar motels in the area, which may offer better value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early May. The rooms are nice enough and there is a jacuzzi and pool. Only gripes are that the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and very squeaky (I have NEVER complained about a mattress but this one had a massive visible lump!!) and the water in the pool/jacuzzi was dirty and required cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Family Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.