We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but not very friendly front desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient but not very friendly front desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

- king size bed which is good for family with young kids
- very near to old fisherman wharf
- no elevator for some rooms if travelers with big and heavy suitcase
- free wifi which is good
- unfriendly front desk staff when late Check in

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    221
    88
    28
    33
See reviews for
158
291
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My room was right beside the main road and all kind of cacophony can be heard. It was close to the summer and our room has no air-conditioning. As noted elsewhere in other reviews, the room is really tiny. Booked through Priceline and cost is approximately $130 USD.

Pros
- Free internet
- Free cold breakfast

Cons
- Tiny room
- my room has no air conditioning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I spent a girl's weekend here with two friends. The hotel isn't on the water, but it's only an 8 minute drive away. And, on the plus side, its right across the street from the open air mall with great shopping. Our room had two queen beds with a patio and a fireplace. Also a fridge and microwave. The continental breakfast did the trick, but was pretty heavy on the breads. The hottub was a plus after a chilly early summer day spent at the beach. The firepits and couches are a nice touch, but you might have to ask the front desk to light them for you. All in all, is recommend and be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here whilst we visited Monteray, Carmel and drove the fantastic "17 Mile Drive". It was a good enough motel but a little expensive for how average it was. Some of the staff were very unhelpful and curt. This was a pity because others were very pleasant ant helpful. If you are thinking of visiting this area, do your research because there are many similar motels in the area, which may offer better value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early May. The rooms are nice enough and there is a jacuzzi and pool. Only gripes are that the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and very squeaky (I have NEVER complained about a mattress but this one had a massive visible lump!!) and the water in the pool/jacuzzi was dirty and required cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Mariposa Inn and Suites is a really cute Inn. The room I stayed in was clean, roomy, modern and comfortable. The room was small but adequate for 1 or 2, plus, there is a refrigerator and microwave nicely hidden in an armoire. The hotel includes what I considered a pretty expansive Continental Breakfast. The hotel is situated within walking distance to a nice outdoor mall with Movie theatre. I only stayed a night at the Mariposa, but enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as for a room on the top floor. Otherwise you will hear footsteps overhea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed one night in room 109 at the cost of $197. This room was so small, there was no room for a dresser. There was a cabinet with a microwave and refrigerator. There was about 2 feet between the foot of the bed and the cabinet, and 3-4 feet between the side of the bed and the wall. They had nice looking grounds with heaters and fire pits & we thought we could hang out there. The front desk clerk acted extremely annoyed with us when we asked her to light the heaters and stated the heaters don't work, they are always out of propane. She reluctantly lit one of the fire pits but it was too cold outside without a heater (the fire pits look nice, but no heat from them) so we went back to our tiny room for the rest of the evening. The room was very noisy, and we heard sirens and alot of road noise. We were awaken at 6:30am from the skylight directly over the bed, so don't plan on sleeping in. I want to note that the couple checking in before us had a printed confirmation with them and the clerk couldn't find a reservation;she rudely told them too bad, she couldn't help and they would have to find another hotel. I'm giving them three stars because the room was clean, the décor was updated and the breakfast was generous. The management needs to provide propane for the outside heaters and tell their desk clerk to get off of her cell phone and help the guests. They should also disclose the size of room 109 when you make your reservation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#37 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.