We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We really enjoyed this room. It was a pleasant surprise after a long day of travel to get a quiet suite with a lovely gas fireplace and very large bed and bathroom. The breakfast that was included with the room was very good- included a waffle station and eggs. The pool was heated and had immaculate gardens surrounding it to create a private oasis. The Inn was also close to the on ramp for the PCH and close to shopping and area attractions. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    188
    64
    20
    21
See reviews for
121
244
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This inn started life as a motel, on the motel strip in Monterey, CA. Recently it was remodeled and updated. It still is motel style, but the rooms are very chic and not typical in a motel property at all. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very modern. The room was quiet. A complementary breakfast was included. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nice room and very clean. Coolest part the shower had 2 shower heads. Room had a fireplace, a balcony, and included 2 robes for the pool. Very relaxing and quiet. Can't wait to come and stay again. Great for couples. The mall is across the street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma,ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Easy to get to, friendly staff, nice room which was clean and most important quiet!!! Grounds were beautiful two out doors gas fire pits, hot tub pool area, clean and orderly. Had just a great stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am a travel professional and stayed here on February 7 for just 1 night. This is a great boutique
hotel ..great value and rooms are comfortable and very stylish. Very convenient to Carmel
and the Wharf 5-10 min where you can find a variety of restaurants. Drive slow when you get
close as to not miss the entrance...shopping center across the street.
Breakfast is simple...yogurt, bagels, cereal..but adequate. If you like a hot breakfast best to go
into town...Old Monterey Cafe for a full breakfast. I found the staff to be very friendly and
welcoming..especially Oscar who checked me in and Daniel as well. Would definitely return
again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: get a corner room on top floor for less noise..get one with a fireplace for those chilly nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel several years ago when it was first remodeled and it was fantastic. However, each time we have stayed there since then, it has declined a bit more. We stayed two weeks ago in one of townhouses, their second most expensive room category. Although the price is decent, the furniture was dirty, the upstairs blinds were broken and there was a leg missing on the couch. However, the biggest problem was the horrific customer service. We reported after the first night that the water in the upstairs shower was lukewarm and the heat lamp in that same bathroom was broken. Never once did the front desk employee offer a kind word or an apology. She seemed irritated with my request but promised to tell maintenance about it. When we got back from being out all day, neither problem was fixed and the front desk person who had taken over from the morning shift had no idea what was going on. He offered a suggestion for getting the water to be hotter and also a small discount on the price of the room. The heat lamp was an electrical problem, we were told, and they would be unable to fix it. The next morning, after another cold shower, I complained at checkout that I was frustrated that maintenance had not tried to adjust the water temperature. My husband could tell just by looking that it would be easy to adjust and if he'd had the right tool he would have done it himself!! It was the same woman from the morning before, and I can honestly say that I have never been treated more coldly or rudely than I was that day. A simple apology would have gone a long way but apparently customer service is not a priority in this place. In the end, we got a bigger discount so we ended up with a fair price, but truthfully, I would have preferred paying more money for hot water and a polite staff that cares for their guests! We won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff. We stayed in a basic king room, which was clean and had a sleek look to it, it had more of a executive feel, not super cozy. The resort as a whole had a nice park like setting. The bed was ok, a little stiff. Our friend stayed down the hall and had a fireplace suite, which did feel cozier. Overall not the most romantic hotel. The biggest complaint would be the noise. You can hear anyone next door who's coming or going. I kept thinking someone was opening the door. There was also a big gap between the door and the frame, so light & sound could creep in. I had picked this hotel under the assumption it was closer to the cannery row, but was very wrong. While it's an easy drive, it would have made for a long walk during the rainy season. Overall, it's a decent hotel, clean, sleek decor, and nice staff, but I would not say it was worth the $149 we paid.

Room Tip: If your gonna stay here pay the extra few bucks for the fireplace suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.