We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with nice updates!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value with nice updates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was very impressed with this property! The extra little touches like the fire place in each room and the lobby and the Keurig machine in the lobby were a nice surprise and the breakfast was excellent! The staff was so helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    188
    64
    20
    22
See reviews for
121
244
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very comfortable stay for us! The fireplace was a nice touch and I have never stayed in a hotel with two floors before- it made the experience very comfortable and pleasant. The front desk staff was courteous and I enjoyed everything about my short stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was clean and good amenities. Had a fridge. Breakfast was a lot of bagels, cakes and danish. Some fruit and cereals. Nothing to rave about but you certainly wont starve either. front desk staff extremely helpful. We were on the second floor and a lot of noise from floor above. Hard to get to sleep. Parking was excellent and I thought the location was great. We had a car so easy to get to and from places. I would stay again but possibly on the top floor, oh and they had an elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here based on TA ratings. Room was fine. Bed good. Had our own access to deck but shared with next door. Deck door was the only opening to the outside. No way to have an open window for fresh air. Could use AC fan but then you get noise. Not feeling safe about leaving deck door ajar while sleeping since there was simple access from stairs to street level.

Room had microwave, fridge and a safe - all nice features. Two large TV sets also. Free breakfast was okay. Waffle maker, pastries, cereal, yogurt, OJ and coffee.

Our bathroom sink did not drain very well and nothing was done to fix the situation even though we reported it on our arrival day. Only other negative was that we could hear the folks in the room above walking about, going to the bathroom. No decent sound barrier between their floor and our ceiling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Walking to our room, the outside looked somewhat shabby and we were concerned. Not to worry, the inside was a wonderful surprise. Very modern, very clean with all amenities that you could as for. There were plenty of towels and the bathroom was well stocked. Breakfast the next morning was also a nice surprise with plenty of items to choose from. The price was well worth it and it was in a good location for touring. I would certainly recommend this hotel, even tho the outside could use some TLC. And one last item, the employees were friendly and courteous and knowledgeable about the hotel and surroundings. Kudos to them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only had one night at the Mariposa, but I wish we had more. The rooms were a decent size, comfortable, nicely decorated and well equipped. Breakfast was included and was fine. I can't really think of any negative points - excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend; we had an amazing getaway to Monterey. When we first drove up I was a little worried it didn’t look very well maintained. When we walked into our room it was super cute and cozy. It is not the best hotel, but for the cost what can you expect. We paid less than $140 for a room that includes breakfast, free parking, and free wifi. I would suggest to request to be on the 3rd floor so that way you won’t have anyone above you. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.