We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
wexford ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“really nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed here on our trip from L.A to San Francisco for 1 night in june 2013, pity we didn't stay for longer. the hotel has a great pool and sitting area. really cool outdoor firepit. complimentary breakfast, all the usuals. the guy at the check in desk was pretty cool, very helpful. we stayed in room 108, it's overlooking the road but it's not noisy and shaded by a tree. the room was great, fridge, safe, large tv, coffee machine and clock radio- connect your i phone. nice bathroom, very clean, really big bath robes, i didn't take it home. across the road is a shopping mall but it's in off the road, we nearly missed it. you have got to try out the resturants on the wharf, the chowder served in a large bread bowl was insane. look for the huge lollie pop in one of the shop windows.on our way to the hotel we drove in through the woods near Carmel by the sea, wow what a place. if we ever go back to California we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    221
    89
    28
    33
See reviews for
158
292
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HoHoKus, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great value! The room is very nicely appointed and the staff was very friendly. There were robes, a microwave, fireplace and a refrigerator. There was also complimentary water. It was the best inclusive continental breakfast I've had (fresh and "real" croissants, muffins, cereals, waffles, dried and fresh fruit...) There is a terrific fire pit with comfy seating at night too. The staff was very attentive at keeping the area clean, but there was a tip jar. Didn't have a chance to try the pool, which seemed nice but small. We only had a few complaints...The bathroom we had was so small that the door kept bumping into the toilet. There was a light coming through some glass cubes that was annoying in the morning. The parking was tight. The entrance to the hotel parking lot can be easily missed. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When we arrived to the Mariposa Inn I was a bit disappointed, it looked a bit shabby on the outside. However, when we got to our room it was a relief, it was modern and clean. The woman at the reception was beyond helpful, she recommended an restaurant at the mall, something I doubt we would have picked ourselves, and the food turned out to be great! The mall is right across the street, so if you want to go shopping, it is rather conveniently located. The breakfast was a rather basic one with some toast, pastries and yogurt, but one thing I really loved was that the price included free access to a gym in Monterey. This might sound like an odd thing to be happy about, but we were travelling for 4 weeks and the gyms at the hotels are usually not that well equipped, so this was a definite bonus for us!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The apartments have a good location- 5 mins drive from Cannery Row and all the Monterey sights. A handy mall across the road. Gas station 2 mins up the road. On arrival a bridal party were bombing around in the car park with music blasting out. Worrying first impression. Our room (101) terrible location. Noisy from the road and the room next door who kept going in and out to car outside rooms banging doors and shouting. When checking in I requested a quiet room but was told that the place and roads are dead after 7.00pm and so room would be fine. Erm no. Got no sleep at all. When checking out, I said we didn't enjoy our stay because of the noise and the man just said 'yes, that is a noisy room!' Customer service nil. Room very clean and complimentary water was the best thing about it. Complimentary breakfast good but a small room which might get busy. Very disappointed overall. The place is nothing like the online pictures. Expect a basic motel feel with a few undesirables hanging around the car park. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Mariposa is just one in a long street of motels of varying qualities, but it is easy to see why it gets good guest reviews, and certainly the accommodation worked perfectly for us (family of 4). The layout of the Town House suite was perfect, as the children were downstairs and us parents upstairs (with resident seagull outside the window who spent most of the day peering in at us!), with 2 bathrooms between us. As soon as we arrived, after a long drive up Big Sur, the children and my husband unwound in the pool - very much appreciated. Pool towels provided!
To get anywhere in Monterey, we had to go by car, but it is a small city and signage is excellent so this never caused us a problem. In fact, on the second night, having had a full and active day at the Aquarium and then sea kayaking, we couldn't be bothered to go downtown again so we appreciated being able to walk across the road to the shopping centre and have a meal there.
The breakfast room is very small. We were able to get a [wobbly] table both mornings but some other guests had to either stand and wait or sit outside in the cool morning drizzle.

Room Tip: We had a Town House suite, which was an excellent option for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked through Hotwire as just a 1 night stopover and were v pleasantly surprised to get upgrade to suite for our family on a tiered level- so value for money was excellent.
Receptionists were super friendly, nice pool & hot tub, clean room with decent furniture- recommend the suite if travelling with kids as v spacious. What let it down for me was building exteriors & walkways were very faded, and breakfast very poor. In contrast to reception staff, breakfast guy not friendly!

Overall great for a stopover if you are doing the coastal route, but slightly underwhelmed with Monterey in general (and you are on outskirts at Mariposa). With hindsight wish we had chosen to stay overnight in Carmel. Aquarium definitely worth a visit though & 17 mile drive delightful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mariposa Inn. The staff was very friendly. The room was small but clean and remodeled. The king sized bed was very comfortable, and the bedding was very nice. We had a sky light in our room which was fun. The Mariposa was close to the freeway and only about 3 minutes from the start of 17 Mile Drive. We could hear some traffic, but the accommodations overcame the negative. The hot tub was very nice. Our favorite part was the breakfast. The dining area is small, but we were able to find seating easily, and there is additional seating outside. There were waffles, cereal, granola, yogurt, bagels and fruit. It was a much better breakfast than we had been having at a chain hotel for the last 3 days. The pastries were actually from a bakery and were delicious. We had a wonderful stay at the Mariposa and would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#32 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.