We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Fresno, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed twice now and have enjoyed each time. When it comes to price and quality, they stand the test. The rooms are cozy, and the accomodations make it look like you paid a little more than you actually did. Downfall, a bit of a distance from Cannery Row and other attractions by the water, but it is still not a bad traveling distance. A few minor complaints, but nothing big enough to share and they were addressed immediately by the staff. Speaking of, the staff there is extremely helpful and courteous as well. We will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Don't always think that Hotels.com, priceline, or any other site has the best deals, call the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    200
    70
    22
    29
See reviews for
136
260
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in February. This is not a large hotel, but has some nice features. Our room had a large hot tub with a gas fireplace. It was a nice size and had a small refrigerator, safe box, small microwave. It had a nice shower - however it seemed to take a while for hot water to come through the pipes. WiFi is free as well as parking - we didn't have a problem with the internet connection. There are two waffle makers along a selection of juices, bagels, muffins, cereals and other items for breakfast.

It is a little awkward getting into the entrance. If arriving in the evening, the sign to the hotel is not lit and the driveway is a little tight. The breakfast area is on the first floor and you can enter from two exterior doors. You cannot access it from inside the hotel.

It was to chilly to enoy the amenities outside - the pool and fire pit. The areas looked nice, however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mariposa Inn over Dec 31 - Jan 2, 2012 with our 2 kids, ages 5 and 3.

I booked the Townhouse suite as we like to have more room and privacy and it was a great choice. First, the rate (~$150/night) was very competitive given that we were getting a townhouse room with 2 levels and 2 full baths. Second, we are pleasantly surprised when we found a full-size murphy bed in the bottom level - the bed was very comfortable for our kids and also had a proper and clean mattress (we do not use sofa sleepers in hotels). We had brought out own air mattresses for our kids but did not have to use them.

There was also a gas fireplace, which was a nice touch and granite counters in the bathroom. The room decor was nice and even though it was renovated in 2008, the place was still in good condition and clean.

Adding to the value was the continental breakfast included in the rate. While it was not a hot breakfast, it was adequate in terms of providing toast, pastries, granola, yogurt, coffee, etc.

The only cons was that this is a pet-friendly hotel and in the morning we heard some dogs barking. I was also concerned about the pet hair as my husband is allergic, but we had no issues with this in our room.

The location is pretty convenient to the attractions in Monterrey, though the entrance to the hotel is a bit narrow.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, especially the townhouse units for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel, but by the pictures it looked like it would be nicer. Upon driving up, it looks a little run down. The person at the front desk was very outgoing and nice, able to help with restaurant reco's. Our room wasn't bad, but it was very small, only about 2-3 feet around the king size bed for walking and then a bathroom. You can tell they tried to do some upgrades to make it look nicer. We had 2 skylights in our room, nice in theory, but the hotel is on a really busy corner. As soon as we got into the room, there was an accident at the corner and we could hear it through the skylights, which are also not very well maintained. There was also so mold on the bathroom ceiling above the shower. Not sure I would stay here again, but the price wasn't terrible, less than $100/night. Our room also looked out on the Knight's Inn located directly next to Mariposa Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here as one of our stops while visiting San Francisco. We were both expecting a dive road side spot from the outside view but we were very happy once we checked in. The service was courteous and professional. We ended up in one of their ADA rooms which was fine. There was a great fireplace in the room that was a nice touch and provided plenty of heat in addition to normal hvac which was also available. It is in a great location-convenient to downtown Monterrey, the Monterrey aquarium and expressway. Free bottled warer, wifi, and a nice continental breakfast. Property has a pool and fire pit and covered parking.

Reasonable rate and definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The reviews that mention that the end units 101, 102, 107, 108 are quite noisy are correct. Also if you are on the bottom floor you can get some noise from folks walking around above you. Did not get the opportunity to see or experience an inside room or suite, so maybe those are better. We were in room 101 the first night after arriving late, but the staff was very accommodating in moving us to 107 after the first night which got rid of the noise above and a spotlight that came through the window above the vanity. The breakfast is nice and the hot tub and pool are very nice to help relax after a long day of walking or shopping. A very nice place for the price and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Avoid units 101, 102 and 107 and 108. Definitely 101 and 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very large suite with small nook for TV viewing separated from much larger sleeping area by the bathroom. But, walls were very thin and I could hear some neighboring guest's dog barking all night. Then, too add insult to injury, in spite of having requested late checkout for 1pm and having checked out before that time at the front desk, I received an additional charge for $40. I had to call hotel back to request reversal of charge and am still waiting for final reversal of charge 4 days later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.