We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving in Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving in Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The reviews that mention that the end units 101, 102, 107, 108 are quite noisy are correct. Also if you are on the bottom floor you can get some noise from folks walking around above you. Did not get the opportunity to see or experience an inside room or suite, so maybe those are better. We were in room 101 the first night after arriving late, but the staff was very accommodating in moving us to 107 after the first night which got rid of the noise above and a spotlight that came through the window above the vanity. The breakfast is nice and the hot tub and pool are very nice to help relax after a long day of walking or shopping. A very nice place for the price and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Avoid units 101, 102 and 107 and 108. Definitely 101 and 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    192
    64
    20
    24
See reviews for
129
245
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very large suite with small nook for TV viewing separated from much larger sleeping area by the bathroom. But, walls were very thin and I could hear some neighboring guest's dog barking all night. Then, too add insult to injury, in spite of having requested late checkout for 1pm and having checked out before that time at the front desk, I received an additional charge for $40. I had to call hotel back to request reversal of charge and am still waiting for final reversal of charge 4 days later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple days during the thanksgiving long weekend. Don't let the look of the property from the outside fool you ... it looks like they took an older property and get a lot of updates ... mostly to the inside rooms. Here is my run-down:

Pros:
- Excellent cold breakfast. It have been better of they had waffles and hash browns which tends to be the norm now a days.
- The rooms look like they have been professionally decorated and the colors, and furniture are all very welcoming, pleasing and allow you to feel relaxed while in the room.
- Complimentary water bottles are a nice touch since we forgot to bring some with us.
- The location of the property is great. Just off the 1. 1 exit north of 17 mile drive, minutes to Del Monte Mall (across the street actually) and no more than a 10 minute drive to Cannery Row.
- Free parking
- Very friendly and knowledgable staff
- Very large pool and spa area. Also at least 2 large confortable looking fire pit areas are available for the guests to enjoy. We unfortunately didn't make the time to use them, but they looked like they would be very enjoyable to use.

Cons:
- Free WiFi was very weak inside the rooms .. to the point where we couldn't connect, or got connected and disconnected. The strongest signal was in the lunch room.
- The entrance to the motel is a bit hidden and very narrow. Additionally you can only go South on Munras and cannot legally make any U-turns if you wanted to go North.
- The cleaning staff only made the bed on our first night. They didn't clean the washrooms or the rest of the room and didn't replenish the supplies or towels. It's not a biggie because we tend to be neat freaks so not much cleaning was required, however a change of towels when we left them on the ground would have been nice.

Overall we enjoyed our stay would look into staying here again without any issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place was really nice, had great little fire pit seating areas and was in a great location. Not far from the downtown area at all. Maybe a 5 min drive. The hotel staff was friendly and of course had a wine bottle opener when we needed one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really like this place but I couldn't give it five star rating because of a few reasons: (1) there was almost nothing gluten-free at the breakfast bar, except for banana and peanut butter, which is what I ate. Even the yogurt had modified food starch, which shows that it was a poorly selected brand. (2) my husband said that the housecleaner must have been short because the top of the shower railing (which was about eye height for my six-foot tall husband) was so dirty he could see a layer of dust. (3) there were a few unrepaired minor items like peeling wallpaper. However we brought our dogs and our room had a little patio so this was a perfect set up and allowed us to get some fresh air. The gas fireplace was also a nice touch. I enjoyed the modern stylish decorations, especially because most hotels have outdated dark and dirty chairs and curtains and the like. But this place was stylish and beautiful. It is across the street from the mall including whole foods market, so there were nearby conveniences too. A great deal!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the townhouse unit was and appreciated having a separate area we could retreat to when my 3 year old went to bed earlier. She and my 6 year old loved the Murphy bed, which was surprisingly comfortable (much more so than the terrible sofa bed at a hotel we stayed at later during this same road trip).

Location seems a bit random, since it's not down near the Aquarium and Cannery Row. It's on a thoroughfare that takes you to Highway 1 so Carmel is just an 8 minute drive away.

Biggest disappointment was the traffic noise, which obviously affected our sleep quality even though the beds were comfortable. My husband is a light sleeper and the hotel is located at the intersection of two streets near the on-ramp to Highway 1. We got room 317. This room faces a busy street (Soledad Dr.) that is a main thoroughfare to Highway 1, yet many of the other rooms face Munras Ave., which also leads to Highway 1 so it may just be that every room has traffic noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Older hotel(but not too old) nicely remolded my 3rd stay here. I really like it. Every room has a fireplace, the 3rd floor rooms are two story,bedroom and bath upstairs and flat screen T.V. Downstairs has a fold down double bed in wall and another bath and shower,microwave,refrigerator,flat screen,pool,spa,nice landscaping.Continental breakfast. Huge shopping center with plenty of restaurants,and a market right across the street.It's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back it is located on Munras a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Family Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.