We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for spacious townhouse unit; location is equidistant to Carmel and Aquarium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Mariposa Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value for spacious townhouse unit; location is equidistant to Carmel and Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the townhouse unit was and appreciated having a separate area we could retreat to when my 3 year old went to bed earlier. She and my 6 year old loved the Murphy bed, which was surprisingly comfortable (much more so than the terrible sofa bed at a hotel we stayed at later during this same road trip).

Location seems a bit random, since it's not down near the Aquarium and Cannery Row. It's on a thoroughfare that takes you to Highway 1 so Carmel is just an 8 minute drive away.

Biggest disappointment was the traffic noise, which obviously affected our sleep quality even though the beds were comfortable. My husband is a light sleeper and the hotel is located at the intersection of two streets near the on-ramp to Highway 1. We got room 317. This room faces a busy street (Soledad Dr.) that is a main thoroughfare to Highway 1, yet many of the other rooms face Munras Ave., which also leads to Highway 1 so it may just be that every room has traffic noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    200
    70
    22
    29
See reviews for
136
260
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Older hotel(but not too old) nicely remolded my 3rd stay here. I really like it. Every room has a fireplace, the 3rd floor rooms are two story,bedroom and bath upstairs and flat screen T.V. Downstairs has a fold down double bed in wall and another bath and shower,microwave,refrigerator,flat screen,pool,spa,nice landscaping.Continental breakfast. Huge shopping center with plenty of restaurants,and a market right across the street.It's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back it is located on Munras a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayton oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We rented the 'suite'...so that my mom could have the entire upstairs, and her own bathroom. (yes, she is spoiled) my Son and I had the entire bottom floor, with a sofa, and murphy bed, and our own bathroom. We watched the Giants win on the nice tv downstairs. The morning breakfast was very nice, and the young man attending it kept it sparkling clean and tidy. I really liked this place, just wish it were a little closer to the Aquarium. There is a nice shopping center right across the street. Whole Foods, etc.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect, if you have a large family...say maybe more than 4 people. The pool was cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for a conference with our two month old. Everything was just perfect for a family stay. I just wish we would have taken advantage of the hot tub and pool. The location near Whole Foods is ideal. It was quiet. Everything was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked this hotel through Expedia because it was near our Monterey Office. When you first arrive it looks a little average until you get into the room. Our room was spacious, immaculate, modern and had a gas fireplace and a sitting area. The hotel was quiet and the staff was great. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for moderately priced rooms off the waterfront. I plan to make it my place to stay when I'm in Monterey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I took my girlfriend/partner to Monterey to celebrate her birthday. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The office decor was modern, clean, very nice. The room was so much more than what I even imagined. As we walked in, to the right/behind, was a stairway, but didnt go up, just went in to check out the room, it was very nice. Newly remodeled(from what we were told later), modern upgrades, with a murphy in wall bed. The bed/bedding was super comfy too, there was also a gas fireplace, with granite platform, desk with cabinet housing a small fridge, microwave and safe. Looking out the sliding door, had a view of the breakfast patio, as well as the pool/hot tub and patio with heaters/fire pit. We put our stuff down, checked out the bathroom, which lit up as we entered(switches were automatic) with all new upgrades, modern mirror that lit up as well. Then we went upstairs where the room again, lit up. There was a nice ceiling fan set with a dimmer switch. King size bed was plush with down comforter and lots of pillows. A very nice, huge padded headboard(Pinterest savvy), as well as matching modern furnishings. In the closet hung 2 plush white robes and across was a full length mirror. The bathroom of the upstairs bedroom had the same lighted mirror as downstairs, a sky light, and a huge tub that fit both of us with plenty of room, super deep.

The only CON I would have would be the barking dogs, since this is a pet friendly place, I cant really complain because I did know this at the time that I booked it.

As far as the price, I have never spent $200 on a room in the past, but I was looking for a nice place, and being that it was in Monterey, alot of places were already booked, I went ahead and did it, booking a room with a king size bed. In the future, if I book this room, I will probably do it with another couple, not all room were double level(equivelent to a condo)...and all the amenities(including, free wi-fi, free parking in their garage, they also offer a free pass to the near by In-Shape health club, as well as free breakfast til 10am)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just got back! This is a lovely, well maintained, very comfortable hotel. The room was very clean, and believe me, I inspect! Love it so much, I have stayed here twice in the 8 trips I have made to Monterey Bay. The staff is so gracious and helpful, especially our sweet little brunette who just started working the check in desk but she catered to our every need! We couldn't figure out the hot tub so she even locked the front desk to come fix the button! Beautiful landscaping and a charming fresh breakfast! The map is a bit misleading, it looks closer to the wharf and downtown. We walked it once, then took a cab for about 7 bucks. If you plan around the transit, it's great, we just like cabs. After walking all over town, the steady incline back to the hotel is like P90 workout or Insanity but we are over 40. I am a coffee snob and the in room coffee was by a well known chef but it was the only thing I didn't like. It is very convenient and reasonable. We stayed 4 nights andit was a great trip! Get a room with a fireplace, it's so lovely after the secluded hot tub!

Room Tip: If you can, get a king, preferably a suite. The rooms have fridge, microwave, safe, warm robes for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.