We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very charming Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was in a great location right in the middle of the tourist area. Very charming HI Express, not the typical ones I have stayed in before. This one felt like a boutique-style inn. Very nice guy manning the front desk. Indoor parking was great. Private outdoor sitting area. Complimentary coffee and apples, and wine and cheese in the early evening.

Our room was quite quaint and stylish for a HI Express, cute country decor. We had two double beds, they were ok, still had a good sleep. (Maybe suggest mattress toppers on the beds...). Good, clean bathroom.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel! I appreciate your comments about our property, and I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to having you with us again the next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    213
    60
    22
    3
See reviews for
191
167
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our stay in the heart of Cannery Row, Monterey couldn't have been better. Sanjay on the front desk and his colleague were a very welcoming team in the evenings.The hotel is placed just at the back of Cannery Row and so is in walking distance of the main restaurants and attractions in that area. The hotel is very clean and tidy and exterior is very much in keeping with the other buildings in the historic area. The breakfast area / lobby gets crowded first thing around breakfast time. There aren't enough tables and chairs to accommodate all the guests. There is one 4 slot toaster for 50 odd people all trying to eat at the same time !! The breakfast food is cheap low grade mass catering quality preformed omelettes etc. Not super tasty but if you are on a budget it will do. The rooms are very clean and modern for the property. Happy to recomend it to others. The internet works well too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I'm happy to see that you that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad that our staff left a lasting impression, as well, as we are quite proud of them and the service they provide. I also appreciate your mentioning the exterior of the building, which I personally think is quite stylish while remaining true to the surrounding area. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

From check-in to check-out, our stay here was excellent and far above expectations. The staff, especially the guys at the front desk, are first-rate. Their friendly and helpful knowledge of the area and its amenities were priceless.

Complimentary Breakfast offerings are outstanding compared to everywhere except that place that makes made-to-order omelets. The evening wine and cheese reception with a variety of juices for the kids was welcome after a day of hoofing it around Cannery Row and the MB Aquarium.

The rooms are spacious, and the blond furniture lends a Danish modern flair. The three stories are built around a scenic central courtyard. Mini-frig and safe are handy. The only drawback is that there are 5 and 7-step staircases here and there, besides the elevator, which are tricky to navigate with luggage, but of course, staff is there to help with that.

Room 305 is on the Drake St. side but a block off the street and it had a nice peek view of the bay. Quiet and good sleeping there.

Free parking below is easy and ample.

I noticed that rooms had the carpets cleaned after each stay and asked about that. Seems that is their MO. Wow!

Overall, this was one of my most satisfying hotel stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Wow, indeed! Thank you SO much for such an outstanding review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so well and appreciate your letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We traveled to Monterey with our three children for our first time and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The location was great for us! It is right on an 18 mile rail trail that makes it very easy to walk or bike to Pacific Grove, Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Aquarium, 17 Mile Drive, etc. (two shops within easy walking distance have bikes for rent). Cannery Row is just a four minute walk away, and the ocean just a block away.

The hotel itself was very nice, although a big pricey (we went during July). Having breakfast included was a big plus and they had a lot of good options, if nothing too fancy. We were hoping for connected rooms but they do not offer those, but arranged for us to have rooms close together.

Great selection of TV channels for those who will be watching TV, but the scenery and environment are so great we did not spend much time in the hotel. It is a great location for families and active adults. Also convenient to historic Monterey and New Monterey, Pacific Grove, and an easy drive to Carmel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed ground floor rooms but would not want to stay right by the lobby as it is quite busy in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I agree with you - there are so many fun things to do on and near Cannery Row that there's hardly any time left for watching TV! We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel with your family and found so much to do nearby. Please come and stay with us again when you're back in the area... our prices are significantly lower in the off-season :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in winter. The price was almost 1/3 of summer price. The room was #1 which used to be a library. It has a jacuzzi in addition to the spacious bathroom. Room was big compared to the ones where I stayed at other branches. It is located in a walking distance to the aquarium and my favorite restaurants at Pacific Grove. Their daily free breakfast is additional merit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We are so glad that you liked the hotel and found our breakfast and good location so convenient. And also that you were able to take advantage of our great off-season winter rates! We hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel only for a night. We read some comments, good and bad, about this place before booking it. There was someone who seemed to be pretty upset with a particular employee but yet, some others raved about the same person. We were wondering which story to believe. We experienced both so we think it really depends on each case.

When we inquired about some specific information over the phone, the employee who answered the phone seemed to be upset and was being sarcastic.

When we got there, every employee seemed to be polite and fine. However, we got a feeling (meaning we cannot prove) that one of those employees also answered our call.

The room we stayed in was of standard size and the beds were quite comfortable. We tried to request for a room away from the busy area (we indicated that in our member profile too) before arrival but was assigned the one next to front desk. It's noisy, especially with the constant toilet flushing (the public toilet is right next door.)

We understood the whole hotel was full but not sure how we got that room assignment since we know for sure we were not the last party who booked the hotel as there were still rooms available a few days after our booking. We'd have thought if they assigned rooms in the order of the reservation that we would never get that room. In any case, we feel (no proof again) whoever answered our call was upset and assigned us that room trying to make a point when we refused to cancel our reservation when he ridiculed us.

The hotel is situation very close to many attractions. The best thing is the free parking as many others only have valet parking (which we don't care for.)

As for breakfast, they kept on running out of the popular items often. We waited for a while before another batch came out and yet by the time we got up and got to it, they were all gone again. We are talking about within like 2 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the public toilet! If you are mobile challenged, try to get a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's nice to know that there is this forum like this to help future guests decide on future bookings, and we really appreciate your sharing your insight on this. We also appreciate your thumbs-up on our great location and free parking - thanks for mentioning these!

Regarding your experience with our desk staff: Our Desk Clerks have been valuable members of our team for a long time, working diligently to assist our guests in a courteous and professional manner. We feel extremely fortunate to have them with us! They do what can be, at times, tricky: handle complex interpersonal interactions while making it look easy :)

It really is surprising how many unique and 'interesting' situations can arise in a hotel, and as I've said our staff is really good at handling these gracefully while accommodating all requests to the extent of their ability to do so. Interpersonal interactions being affected by various factors, there certainly might be times when we miss the desired note in a specific interaction or are unable to communicate all details of a reservation in an ideal fashion. While we're sorry about this, we do keep trying.

Certainly in the design of any hotel there will be rooms that are considered more favorable (better view, larger room, more private, etc.) while also being rooms that are located closer to the public areas, and therefore less quiet than others. I would like to tell you that we do NOT assign 'inferior' rooms to 'troublesome' guests in retaliation or to make a point. EVER.

Our hotel is very small (42 rooms) with several different room types to choose from while making a booking. The room type booked must match the room type assigned. For some room types there are only two or three available in the entire hotel.

Not knowing the details of your booking, I can only guess that you booked the last room available of its type and this necessitated your room assignment. We are in the Hospitality business and go out of our way to make all of our guests happy as possible! If we did not we are sorry, but can assure you this was unintentional.

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a nicely detailed review, and for being our guest. We hope that you will decide to come back and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

On arrival your impression is 'gosh' a pretty Holiday Inn Express, then the exc reception staff build on that with their care and consideration. We met several different receptionists and all were fab, could not do enough for you. Bit of a pain that you have to cart your luggage up and down a few steps around the courtyard to get to the rooms. The room was super, clean, spacious (we had 4 people in ours: 2 x double beds and sofa bed - and still room to walk around!). The location is fab, easy walk to Cannery Row and the aquarium. Wine and cheese in the early evening is a nice touch and there are apples on reception and water is available all day. Normal cereals, fruit juice, pancakes etc for breakfast. The courtyard is very pretty and has sun until the afternoon. We visited Salinas - don't bother unless you want to go to the Steinbeck Museum. We went to Steinbeck House but it was closed and the town is sad and run down. Monterey is great, this is our second visit and we may well be back. We were there for 4th July, which we hadn't thought through as it is one place where there are no fireworks due to the marine life. We enjoyed watching sea otters swimming as we ate our evening meal though - much better. If you are visiting the aquarium, drop by the aquarium office the day before, get your tickets and miss the queues. Early morning 9.30 is quieter and you'll see more, you can have your hand stamped so you can exit and re-enter the same day, later once the crowds subside again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a delightful review! Thank you so much for your compliments, it makes our day to hear that you found the hotel to be such a good fit to your needs while in town. We hope that you do come back to Monterey again, and hope that you will stay with us when you do! thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.