We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; nifty architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location; nifty architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

So a HIX isn't the fanciest hotel you will ever stay in but it's great value, especially with the breakfast. The architecture really fits into the cannery row location. There are great walking paths right next to the hotel which allow you to take nice walks along the bay. The only caution is that there are lots of levels, so if stairs are an issue be sure to say so when you book so that you can get a room that is close to the elevators and avoids the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
How nice to get a compliment on the hotel's architecture - thanks! We're glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel, which I would agree does complement the local flavor well. Thank you for pointing out the situation with the stairs, and yes, please specifiy when you're booking your room if you need special accommodations for this! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I decided to book this place since it is walking distance from the Monterey Bay Aquarium (about 10 minutes away). This was our first trip with our five month old daughter, so my husband and I didn't want to deal with driving and parking throughout our stay. This hotel offers free parking, and as mentioned in previous reviews, you can leave your car in the parking garage even after check out, which is a nice perk.

I called the hotel directly the day before we arrived, and informed the representative that we needed a room near an elevator. This is a three story hotel, with tons of stairs, but not every room has access to the elevator. I didn't want to walk up a bunch of stairs with our baby, playpen, stroller, and luggage. The guy I spoke to said he would put in the request. We ended up getting just that: a room on the third floor directly in front of an elevator. I was so thankful.

The room itself is a decent size. We had booked a double bed room, and it contained small couches at the foot of the beds, along with a separate chair and foot stool. With the three of us, I thought it was a good enough size.

The only negative parts about our stay were the following:
1. No microwave: It would be convenient to have in the room in case guests have leftovers from the nearby restaurants.
2. Complimentary breakfast: It was disappointing because the biscuit from the biscuit and gravy portion was rock hard. Not cool, especially if you are starving.

A special note: There is a koala care (diaper changer) in the hotel lobby for families. Great perk for us:-)

Overall, it was a pleasant stay, and I think we will stay again for the night.

Room Tip: Check out the shops and restaurants on Lighthouse Ave. (away from Cannery Row). Tons to see!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great and thorough review. And thank you for requesting that your room be right off of the elevator - we do our best to accommodate all of our guests' requests, and it really helps to know what these are when assigning your room. So thanks again for letting us know about that!

Regarding the microwave: We did have microwaves in all of the rooms a few years ago, but the problem was that so many people warmed up their leftover fish in their rooms that it left a fishy smell which lingered on and bothered subsequent guests. We're sorry not to be able to provide microwaves any longer, but consensus seems to be that our current arrangement is the more acceptable of the two options.

Again, thanks for your review and we're really glad that the hotel worked out well for you and your family. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our overnight stay was pretty good. The location was not what I expected. I was expecting to be closer to the water. The charm that this hotel offered, counter-balanced the off call on the location. I will definitely return to Monterey, but I will choose another site to stay. I love being close(r) to the water.

Room Tip: Although they pride themselves on breakfast, we were terribly disappointed by the accommodations for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollysJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We're glad to hear that your stay went well, and thank you for mentioning that you found the hotel to be charming! We're sorry that you were expecting us to be closer to the water... we do our best to represent our location accurately on our website and various online locator maps, and are sorry if this wasn't clear.

As the hotels that are right on the water tend to charge quite a bit more for their rooms than we do, we find that our guests are happy with the value that they receive at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. Again, thanks for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location was great. It was so close to everything that although the parking was free we didn't have to move the car at all. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the room was very nice and clean. No complaints at all. This is where I would stay again next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you were so pleased with the hotel! I agree, one of the nicest and most unexpected bonuses of staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row is that you can do and see everything on Cannery Row without having to take your car out. We're so glad that you were able to enjoy the local attractions while you were here, and really look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

All variety of Food, mexican, american, italian, indian, deli's, fun, shopping, rocky mountain chocolate factory, ghiradelli's deserts! Hats, jewelry , socks, much to see and do! What do you want to do!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Well after reading what you just wrote, I want to eat!! :)

Thanks so much for your fun review! We're delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and found it so convenient to all of the fun shopping and dining on Cannery Row. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on vacation recently. Very nice hotel and priced really well for the area.
We were upgraded to a king room with ocean view. The ocean view was correct, you could see the ocean if you looked at the right angle through the trees. The room was large with a convertible sofa. Bathroom was reasonably sized and there wa snot much noise after dark.
The hotel is one block of of Cannery Row and from the hotel to the aquarium is about a 10 minute walk, There are some stairs to some of the rooms on upper floors, but there is an elevator. Rooms had a small fridge but no microwave. Internet signal was good throughout the evening.
Wine and cheese are offered int he evening and the standard HIE breakfast is available. Parking is free and covered, but if you have a large vehicle the garage can be a challenge.
For a visit to Cannery row this hotel is very hard to beat. Prices are very reasonable and the staff is cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments, we are so happy that you found the hotel to be clean, quiet, and convenient. We do think that we offer a good value for a quality hotel room on Cannery Row, and appreciate your letting us know that you agree! Please come and stay with us again next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at the Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row! It was one of many stops along our way through California on our honeymoon. The room was clean and new-seeming. Comfortable bed, great sleeping, and a nice view! The area around the hotel is very pretty and peaceful. We felt comfortable walking down to around main street and back at night. We went to breakfast at a little deli close by and they were happy to serve us, then to the aquarium. It was a great city to be in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding, I'm so glad that you had such a great time on your honeymoon trip down the coast! We're so happy that you were able to stop and share some of it with us at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and that the hotel's locations and amenities suited you so well. Thanks so much for letting us know, and please come and stay with us again. Maybe for your anniversary! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing