We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay on a Saturday evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One night stay on a Saturday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very conveniently located to local attractions without any noise. It was a clean hotel and room and the front desk guy was friendly and gave us restaurant options. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel but found it neat and clean. The complimentary breakfast was good (breads, some warm options, such as pre-made eggs, sausage, etc.), coffees, bagels, fruit, etc.
The only downside to this hotel is that is doesn't have an elevator which was difficult with a large suitcase.
I'd stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so glad that you liked the hotel!

Regarding the elevator situation... I'm so sorry that you had trouble with the stairs. Just to clarify, we do have an elevator at the hotel. However, it only directly serves a small portion of our rooms. The rest of the rooms do require some additional stairs to access (a few to half a flight, depending on which room you are trying to reach).

Unfortunately this is one of the physical quirks that we inherited with the hotel, and there isn't much that we can do about it. But please do ask for help at the front desk if necessary, we're always happy to help with your bags. Also, for anyone who requires a room with no steps at all, please be sure to indicate this when calling the hotel to make your reservation.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    227
    60
    26
    3
See reviews for
198
182
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 5 days in that hotel with a seaview room. The room was really sapcious with a fridge and everything that is necessary. The parking is free.
It is a five-minute walk from Cannery Row.
The satff is professional.
The breakfats room is a bit small and the food is average, but it is a complimentary breakfast. They even have a pancake machine, that was unfortunately out of order one .
Every evening a drink (wine) is offered with crackers and cheese.
We recommand that hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you liked the hotel and appreciate your letting us know! We do hope that you will be able to come back again and stay with us another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year while the lobby was under construction. The staff was pleasant. This year, we are staying again because of the location. You just can't beat it. Literally, a very short walk to Cannery Row where you will find the beach, restaurants, went whale watching on a boat, ate at a Mexican Restaurant and went to the Aquarium. Drove to Carmel, Big Sur, had a drink at Pebble Beach and drove l7 mile drive. Perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We're so glad that you were able to come and stay with us again this year (and hope that you like the way the lobby remodel turned out!) Thanks so much for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed our great Cannery Row location and were able to see so many of our local attractions. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived late at night and ready for bed. Check in felt like it was faster than lightening and before we knew it we were upstairs in our room. The Hotel has a really lovely ambiance - it really feels like a small quaint inn. Only a couple of blocks walk from the aquarium and Cannery row - the location was fantastic - best bit was it was far enough away from the tourist sights to be whisper quiet too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel so well, and also so glad that you were able to get to your rooms so quickly. (I know what it's like when you've been traveling a long way and just want to get some sleep!)

Very glad to know that the hotel suited you so well. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were visiting Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and just wanted a decent place to stay. We weren't after the spa experience. The Holiday Inn Express fit the bill nicely. About $100 less per night than fancier places, but no more than a block or two from Cannery Row. There are a number of cheaper places in Monterey, but you lose the convenience.

The room we got was clean and quiet. It was small, with two double beds crammed into a room that seemed to be meant for at most one queen. But it had enough space for the three of us, since all we were doing there was resting our feet and sleeping. Breakfast was nice; the usual cold cereal, fruit and yogurt, plus sausage, eggs and pancakes. Didn't use the free Wifi, and so I can't comment on its speed. Another nice thing for us was that you can buy aquarium tickets in the lobby, and you get a two day admission for the price of one.

The lobby staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Overall a nice compromise between convenience and price. We'll likely go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
So glad to hear that the hotel fit your needs so nicely and economically! Thanks so much for letting us know, we're glad that your family enjoyed their stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. Please come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You would think that a budget hotel in a tourist destination would be a forgettable experience, but I was very happily surprised by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey. It is a chain hotel, sure, but it doesn't feel like one. Tucked back from the street in a residential neighborhood walking distance to Cannery Row, I appreciated that the hotel fit into its surroundings and didn't ruin the quaint street. The lobby has a welcoming feel and the friendly desk clerk was better at his job than most hotel staff you find in fancier hotels. The rooms are spacious and the amenities good quality. The only real drawback is that the common area/lobby is small and also serves as a passageway between the front door, the front desk, and the rooms' area. So during breakfast and the wine and cheese service it's too crowded and busy to really relax. But you're in Monterey after all, so you probably don't want to be hanging around your hotel anyway. If you want good value for money, no pretentiousness, and comfort, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: back of hotel faces a fairly noisy street so try to get a room off that street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you SO much for your very generous review, and especially for your compliments to our staff. They work very hard to make our guests feel welcome and it is extremely gratifying to hear back from you on this! So thanks very much for taking the time to do that.

We're very happy that you were pleased with the hotel's location, design, and value and thank you for letting others know. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again next time you're in Monterey and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable one night stay with 2 children. The reception was friendly and very informative. They made great recommendations for dinner away from the usual touristy traps. The rooms were recently done up and there was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children with an abundance of luggage. The bathroom was in good shape and the shower pressure was great. The only minor complaint would be that the heater/air conditioner was very loud and would wake us up when it was turning on and off so we just rugged up and turned it off. Breakfast was included. It was simple but had enough variety for everyone in the family. It was within walking distance of everything and parking was free. Everything was easy from checking in to checking out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wonderful, we're delighted to hear that you liked the hotel so well, from our location on Cannery Row to the free breakfast in the morning. Thanks so much for a wonderful review and we hope that you will be back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.