We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Fresno, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is located within steps of Cannery Row and less than half-mile from the Famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. The rooms and furniture are a tad outdated and old. The breakfast lobby is a tad small, but what would you expect...it's free. Location, Location, Locations means you'll have to pay premium prices!

Room Tip: Parking can be tricky as you navigate your in the underground parking structure. We drive a mid-siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're glad that you found our location close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium to be so convenient, and appreciate your patronage. Thanks for taking the time to write, we hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    218
    60
    23
    3
See reviews for
193
174
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have chosen Monterey's Holiday Inn Express at Cannery Row for years. Not only do they welcome one with light wine and cheese evenings, and a bountiful breakfast in the lovely, bright common area, but the setting in a well kept garden right off the Bay is delightful! The rooms are all clean and well equipped, but best of all is the front desk! Sanjay, Alex and Arben will find anything for you, be available for help at all hours and are such kind and welcoming professional hosts! Thank you to them and enjoy to prospective visitors!

Room Tip: A water-view room is especially lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
What a delightful recommendation! Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments for our front desk staff... it is very much appreciated (and I agree with you, they really are wonderful and care very much about making sure our guests are welcome and well taken care of!) So glad that you've enjoyed your return visits to the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and hope that they will continue for a long time to come. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row, is situated perfectly for the vacationer wanting to do the tourist thing. The hotel is clean, beautiful, and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was great. The service on the phone for reservations and during our stay was wonderful. How refreshing not to have to pay for parking in Monterey.

Room Tip: We were assigned a king room with a view. #216
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We very much appreciate your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel, breakfast, and free parking. Please come and stay with us again when you're back in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Great location and no charge for parking. Front desk was very helpful and made a great restaurant recommendation - Loose Noodle. Awesome Italian food and very reasonably priced. Go if you have the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant recommendations! Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to Monterey, please come and see us again at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here recently for a weekend trip to Monterey, and the location at the end of Cannery Row can't be beat. There's also free parking, which is a plus in comparison to some of the other hotels with similar locations. It's also nice to get free Wifi, although that's not critical for such a short trip.

We stayed in a corner room, and we were surprised at how large it was. It was very roomy and everything was in decent order. It was more or less clean, although there were some red deposits in some of the edges of the shower. The room also was also a little smelly, although opening the windows took care of that. It was otherwise acceptable.

One other nice thing this particular Holiday Inn Express did was an afternoon cheese/cracker snack along with some drinks. I've not seen this before, and we only stopped by in the afternoon to drop off our things before heading back out so we didn't really take advantage, but it was a nice touch.

It's not a fancy hotel, but it does the job and is pretty convenient for seeing Monterey and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, we're glad that you liked the hotel and value your business. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again next time you're down in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights and could not fault it. From the moment we arrived until we left we were greeted with great service. The location is genius - a 5min walk to Cannery Row, close but quiet enough. Ample parking for guests, reception welcome was spot on - didn't have to ask a single question as he explained everything. Breakfast was perfect, room was perfect sized and very clean. As for value for money, I would say this deserves the price. You could stay in many places for the same price and get swimming pools etc but we looked beyond luxury to find value and this does have value through excellent service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you SO MUCH for this terrific review! We especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, who do work so hard to make our guests feel welcome and well-cared for. We're very glad to know, as well, that you found our hotel to represent a great value on Cannery Row. Thanks again!! We hope that you will come and stay with us another time as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our trip down the coast. The location is excellent and our room, king bed with sofa, was lovely and had a sea view. The free underground parking is a real bonus - Monterey is an expensive place to park. The front desk service was excellent and we enjoyed the cheese and wine reception in the evening.
The hotel is right on the Monterey Bay trail, which was fantastic. We opted not to go to the aquarium this time (very expensive and sea otter section closed at the moment), but walking the trail round towards Lovers Point, we saw plenty of seals, sea otters and dolphins out in the bay (good binoculars are a must).
The trail is also great for strolling into the downtown area in the evening.
We would have to agree with other reviewers that while the breakfast buffet is very good, the limited seating is a problem. We would suggest taking breakfast through to the comfortable seating in the courtyard/garden area.
There is an elevator, but the hotel is built in an unusual split level way, which meant carrying our bags down half a dozen steps after taking the elevator to the top floor.
At the time of our stay, we were disappointed that the vending machine for soft drinks in the courtyard was not working, and we got the impression it had been out of order for some time. A small detail, but surely a simple one to get sorted? We were directed to a gas station behind the hotel instead.
Value for money was just about acceptable. On the whole, we would stay again if the rate was right, and we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complete review... we very much appreciate the compliments to our staff and property, and are glad that you were able to make the most of our convenient location on Cannery Row.

I do apologize for the breakfast area, we wish there was a way to enlarge it and have tried to annex the interior courtyard for this purpose. Thanks for the heads-up on the soda vending machine, we will try to get that fixed as soon as possible.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again on your next visit to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.