We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price considering the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good price considering the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wasn't expecting much as it's a chain hotel but the location is superb for Cannery Row and the aquarium etc. Rooms were a decent size, clean and well appointed. Check-in and check-out was very quick and easy with good friendly and helpful staff.

Only gripe, as with many hotels of this size, is that the breakfast area was very busy when we needed it so we skipped and walked in to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
So glad to hear that you liked the hotel, and sorry that the breakfast room was crowded when you came down. We do have additional seating in the courtyard, which is pretty nice this time of year when the weather is so nice. Hopefully you can come and see us again and give it a try!

Thanks again for writing in, we appreciate it and appreciate your business, as well. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    227
    60
    26
    3
See reviews for
198
182
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My review is just about a repeat of the previous one.
Stayed one night - really nice room and facilities (the TV selection was outstanding) - great location - friendly staff - wish we had arranged to stay longer - definitely would stay again.
The breakfast was standard HIE fare, one downside was that the breakfast area was a bit small.
Otherwise, the best stay during our road trip around California

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Wow, this is great! We're so happy to hear that you liked the hotel so much, and wish you could have stayed longer as well. Thanks so much for the review, please come and see us again when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We only stayed here one night on our way up the coast, but this hotel was one of the best during our trip. Excellent location within close walking distance of Cannery Row; friendly staff; fast check-in and check-out; nice free breakfast; large rooms that were quiet, clean and updated; huge bathroom; free indoor parking. No complaints at all and would definitely stay here again if I return to Monterey. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Wow, thanks so much for your feedback! We're so glad to know that you liked the hotel, and wish that you could have stayed with us longer. Hopefully next time? We really appreciate your positive feedback and kind words...thanks again for writing, and please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

While this hotel is not the newest in the Holiday Inn chain's ownership, this turned out to be a hidden charm. The hotel, which is located on Wave Street, is just one block away from Cannery Row. That means the Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as Fisherman's Wharf is within walking distance, so if you leave your car there, you receive free parking. I said the rooms are a nice size, and easily handled us and all of our luggage. The express breakfast was nice with a different main course each day, but with the great little cinnamon buns that one comes to expect from HI.
The access to the upper rooms require a ride on the elevator and then a walk down a few steps. The price of the rooms was moderate and I would not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the first floor to eliminate the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your generous words! We're so pleased that you discovered the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and enjoyed its close proximity to Cannery Row and the Aquarium, room amenities, breakfast and free parking. We hope that you will stay with us again when you have the chance, and thanks again for writing in. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well situated 10 minutes walk to Cannery row, 15-20 minutes walk to Monterey Bay Aquarium, very clean room, good wifi connection, nice staff, had wine & cheese every night at 5:30 pm courtesy of the hotel... Interior garage for parking, very pleased , would return , decent breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for this terrific review. We're so glad that the location and amenities at the hotel worked out so well for you, and really hope that you will come back again some time. Thanks again for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided to extend our stay in Monterey and after checking out of the Portola Hotel down by the Wharf, we found a room left at this HIE on Cannery Row. After the so-so room at a 4-star property, this is in fact a step up! The rooms were very recently remodeled, Direct TV LG 32 inch LCD, great AC, curtains block all light, free high-speed WiFi, FREE parking underground, a free light breakfast, a free wine & cheese reception every night, and very friendly and helpful staff!

In all candor, I had a reservation at this property and I cancelled it for a 4-star bid on Priceline and the room I got at the Portola Hotel was not as nice as this at Holiday Inn Express! Better amenities and easier to get in and out of the area and an overall better room experience.

Next time I come to Monterey I will stay here! It's convenient and a great room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
WOW! What a fantastic recommendation! Thank you SO much!!

We're really glad that the hotel met (and surpassed) your expectations so well, and thank you for letting us know that you appreciated the value and accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. We're so pleased that you were happy with your stay, and really hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for a night as part of a road trip around the USA room was one of the smallest our family of 4 had but as it was only for a night was not a problem. It was clean and that was more important. Friendly staff at check in and a nice little area for a quick breakfast on a morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
So glad to hear that you liked the hotel! Thanks so much for letting us know, we're very glad that you found us and hope that you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.