We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel in Monterey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Monterey to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 5% Off
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel in Monterey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located (5-10 minute drive) to all the attractions in Monterey like the Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Its also relatively affordable. The first time we entered the room, there was a stale smell, which went away after opening the windows for an hour or so. Another problem is the noisy air conditioning. The thermostat doesnt allow you to set anything lower than 65F, however the room was relatively hotter than that and our only option was to open the balcony door which let a bit of noise in. Given all that, its location convenience and relatively affordable price are good reasons to return.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the car turnaround and the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the stale smell and A/C nuances you encountered and are glad they will not prevent you from returning in the future. It is terrific to hear you will return for our convenient location and good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    301
    114
    43
    17
See reviews for
233
236
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Monterey is expensive and this hotel can offer a decent value for the money, but disabled visitors beware: access is awkward at best. The lobby is upstairs, there are no ground floor rooms, and the only direct elevator access is from the underground parking lot, but those elevators require a room key. There are ramps, but the ramps lead to stairs! If you're just checking in, or couldn't get underground parking, you have to go up a ramp, ring a bell and wait, then ride in a tiny box of a lift (not a normal elevator) to reach the lobby. Now imagine you want to eat on site--the hotel is laid out in a horseshoe shape and the restaurant is on one end. You want to eat and you're at the wrong end? You have to go down the stairs or around the entire loop.

The first floor is directly over the underground parking lot and the floors are FREEZING! Our heater worked just fine, but it didn't touch the floor chill.

Room Tip: In the summer, the cool floors on the first floor might be good, but in the winter, ask for the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review HGI Monterey. You are correct, it is awkward for guests with special needs staying at our hotel upon arrival. When you return, please let us know in advance so we can block a room very close to the lobby on the first floor during the summer and 2nd floor during the winter to make things easier for you. We will assign a staff person to help you with the lift to get you to and from the restaurant and parking check-in easily and quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great hotel.. Exceptionally good for one of Hilton's "Garden Inn" brand hotels...

It's got the usual Hilton brand service quality (which I find is, usually, excellent, market leading), the usual "Garden Inn" facilities, whilst, at the same time, it's not one of the typical "clone" hotels..

I stayed here many years ago when it was a "Hilton", Hilton and I don't recall it being any better then than it is now as a "Garden Inn"....

The rooms are well appointed and have the usual Garden Inn facilities (fridge, microwave oven etc) as well as the usual stuff you would expect in a hotel.. I, personally, like the beds in Garden Inns particularly, find them very comfortable..

Staff are approachable and try to help..

The layout of the hotel is such that car parking can be an issue, especially when there are events on nearby and the hotel is full.. But, to be fair, I always managed to park somewhere around the hotel.

Also, if you are working at the nearby Laguna Seca racetrack, and need to be up there early, you might find that the breakfast room does not open early enough for you..

The hotel is pretty well located for the track, being close to Highway 1 ramps and the links off it..

Value is OK, but then I am judging this on an 'event" weekend where the rates were not as cheap as they can be.. If you got a good rate on a quieter time this hotel would be great value..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for this favorable review as a "Great Hotel." We appreciated hearing your comments about your experience here while working at the Mazda Laguna Seca race track! We invite you to return for vacation soon so you can enjoy even more of the Monterey Peninsula!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a road trip through California. It is a lovely hotel and couldnt believe we got the hotel so cheap!
You could get free cookies from 6pm-7pm and free flavoured water through out the day!
Used the fitness room which had great equipment.
Pool, spa and fire pit were lovely.
The breakfast and food to purchase for the room was expensive but did not spoil our time. Monterey is a lovely fishing village and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review of your stay at HGI Monterey. So glad to hear you had a fabulous road trip of California while visiting from England! The cookies and infused water will be waiting for you on your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tri-Cities, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This property has plenty of positive reviews. What I wanted to add is that you can get rooms at this location for around $100 if you choose the nonrefundable rate through Hilton Honors. If you know for sure you need a place in Monterey, you won't go wrong here. You can pay $250/night if you want the ocean view, but if you want convenient location (across from the mall) and an easy drive down to the waterfront, you cannot beat this place.

Room Tip: Top floor, patio facing west (the inner courtyard/pool area) would give you the most privacy and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments and for validating the other recent positive reviews. Your suggestion is a good one about using our "Advanced Purchase" discounts for getting the most absolute rock bottom rates! Although no changes or cancellations are allowed, there are also no less expensive rates available! We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Nice, close to the beach. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable.
Would stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks for your positive review! We appreciate you acknowledging our friendly staff and our clean comfortable property! Please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel. Large clean rooms with balcony. Although fairly outside the centre of town we really enjoyed the walk each day into town.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
We appreciate your positive review. And are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at HGI and hope you return to Monterey and HGI when you return to the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, ½ a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.