We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My little home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1288 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Daly City
1 review
“My little home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Staying at Days Inn was an unforgettable experience for me. The rooms are sunny and very clean, everything that was supposed to be working ( like TV, for example ) did, the price was more than reasonable. And the location! I've walked to the Fisherman's Wharf, to the Monterey Museum of Art, to Alvarado Street and our " Ghost Tour ". There are Trader Joe's and Walgreens for those of us who always end up forgetting shampoo, for example, within walking distance as well. I'm not extremely picky about breakfast, so their Continental Breakfast was more than enough. And you got a free copy of USA TODAY. Overall, I wouldn't dream of staying anyplace else.

  • Liked — The location- it's close to everything that's important to me
  • Disliked — Having to leave :)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    65
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
53
70
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed one night with grandkids and another family in two rooms. No ac so to keep cool needed to keep windows open to the auto court which let in noise from other guests and busy street . Non-smoking room but need to keep the windows open let smoke in from other guests smoking. Door had been recently reset and swings the wrong way for building and handicapped codes, so you walk into the chairs and have to swing it ALL the way open to come and go.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise, no ac, had to keep windows open all the time
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

This place sucked for several reasons. Firstly, it's the local boozer hang-out. When we arrived, at 4 in the afternoon, there were several units with their doors open and people hanging around the hallways drinking. The first night actually wasn't too bad...the rooms have been renovated and are clean but the second night there was a virtual block party with about three or four rooms partying together.....and they didn't even arrive together. This went on until 3-4 in the morning. It's way over priced and really it's a Motel NOT a Hotel. I'd never stay here again.

  • Disliked — Noise, Noise, Noise....didn't feel overly safe
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Checked in around 9:00 pm. The stairs up to the second floor were uneven and unsafe in the dark, especially for small children or parents carrying luggage. The toilet was running when we entered the room. You could see light and hear street noise through the gap between the door and the jamb. The cover of the heating unit was broken and lying on the floor in pieces of sharp metal. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee pot. The hairdryer in the bathroom was broken, the on button was jammed. The toilet clogged and then overflowed the next morning, soaking the bathroom floor and carpet. Couldn't wait to wake up and get out of there.

  • Disliked — In desperate need of repair and maintenance.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed for several nights and never again. We had a suite and when we started the water in the jacuzzi, it was brown.
The shower had mold in all of the corners.
The carpet was stained. Sheets were very clean but the bed was very uncomfortable.

Never again

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

I was actually wanting to stay at the other Days Inn just down the road, but was given this number instead. The staff was pleasent, but the room did look as if they attempted to modernize it on the cheap. The shower did not drain well, but we were only there to sleep. The main problem is the bed bug infestation. We stayed in Room 109. I woke up Sunday scratching a few spots, but it got worse as the day went on, and I ended up swelling up on my hands and legs and face . I know it is bed bugs because I where I was not covered by clothing (long sleeve t-shirt, socks and underwear I was bit numerous times.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

My family traveled from Las Vegas to Monterey peninsula and were very tired , arrived around 5pm. The place had no elevators and had to bring the luggage up. The carpeting on 2nd floor was very dirty and stained. The room had a very old moldy smell when
we opened the door. It disappeared after we left the windows wide open for at least a couple of hours. The sheets were clean
and the bathroom was fairly clean. I guess this place to be quite old by the looks of it. There is an italian restaurant down the street that's quite good and a chinese restaurant (The Great Wall)
which also quite good. The Wharf itself is a good 15-20 minutes walk and you will need your car or SUV.. to travel to Pacific Grove for Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The 17 mile drive is okay and you had to pay. To see the ocean for free just drive around Monterey Bay via Asilomar Beach Park and Ocean Drive and it is free!!!!The view is gorgeous and you can walk right by the ocean and the rocks!!! Our night stay at the hotel was okay , you have to l
leave your windows open for ventilation and the fan was fairly noisy. Unfortunately, you can hear your neighbors and the outside
traffic and you can probably find a better hotel somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium

Address: 1288 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman`s Wharf/Aquarium Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.