We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Montclair, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was very clean and cozy. There are flowerpots and planters all over to cheer you. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a heated pool on each side of the hotel.they have a free breakfast in the morning,although the room is very small and crowded when people start waking up. Food was tasty though. We took our food to our room because there was no place to sit and eat.
We would stay here again. Oh.....I forgot....the showers are wonderful, nice water pressure and no problem with hot water.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear timmersgal,

Thank you for writing such a great review! I agree our flowerpots and planters are a great way to cheer up anyone. Our maintenance team does a wonderful job keeping our grounds beautiful. At the Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea our number one goal is customer service, so I am delighted the staff was friendly and helpful. Our pool is a great way to relax after a busy day. Our free hot continental breakfast is always a big hit with our guests I am thrilled you thought so too!

I am pleased you had a memorable stay with us. Please come and visit us again when you are in the Monterey area again.

Warm Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    182
    95
    32
    19
See reviews for
164
169
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at the Comfort Inn in Monterey. Janea, the Manager, greeted us as Elite Gold members as we checked in - a nice gesture - this only happened twice in the two weeks we stayed in Choice Hotels during this trip. We were pleasantly surprised to see the hotel using crockery and cutlery which were not disposable - another first in the time we were touring California and Oregon. For the night we spent at the hotel, could not fault the breakfast buffet selection and the dining area was spacious in comparison to other hotels where we stayed. We appreciated the fact that there was a computer and printer available for customer's use
Would like to make a comment about the room we had (#233) and that is the bathroom was relatively small for two people and there could have been a little more space to place one's toiletry bags. Should we return to California, would not hesitate to stay at your hotel. We would like to thank Janea for all the assistance including restaurant tips which she provided us - very much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear George S.,

You are welcome! I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip to Monterey. It was such a pleasure to chat with you while you were our guest! I’m shocked to hear you were not recognized as one of our Elite Gold members in more of our Choice Hotel properties. We appreciate your loyalty to the Choice Hotel brand, and thank you for making us your hotel of choice while in Monterey! We know you have many options when traveling and I’m so happy you choose our property. I hope the rest of your journey went well. It was a pleasure to be of assistance to you and I look forward to your next visit to beautiful Monterey!

Best of luck,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is an older property; two-storey motel-style building. So be sure to book Ground Floor is you can't handle stairs.
At 4pm our room was not ready so Front Desk asked us to come back 4:30 or 5pm.
Rooms clean but cramped by modern standards.
Our door was under a flight of stairs but no noise in the night.
Breakfast room is far too small.
The gardens are very well done & flowers exceptional.
The 'motel' image has a certain charm; but room improvements should be made.

Room Tip: Book ground floor if you need it. Breakfast room is located between Lobby & street - quite a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear ONLY2B,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and our property. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our brilliant and vibrant gardens. Our maintenance team does a wonderful job keeping our grounds beautiful for our guests. I appreciate the tips you left for fellow travelers. I’m sure it will be must appreciated by our future guests. I’m sorry about the delay in getting you in your room. We want our rooms to be perfect for you. I hope you will come stay with us when travel brings you our way again!

Warm Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our drive from LA to San Francisco as it was close to the Big Sur area.
The place is great, clean, comfortable with friendly staff and in a great location close to Highway 1 and also close to the town centre.
Check in was quick and easy and our room was huge, the bed was very comfortable. If I am ever in the area again this place would be my first choice to stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mundo61,

Wow! We are thrilled to be your first choice in accommodations in Monterey! Thank you! I’m so happy to hear you found our hotel clean, comfortable, and in a great location. Monterey has a vast number of things to do, so it helps that we are in such a central location for our guests. Thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We want you to know how much you much your kind remarks mean to us! Thank you again, and we hope to see you on your way home from San Francisco!

Travel safe!
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The accommodations at Comfort Inn Monterey By the Sea was very good. Mala, a guest relations staff, was exceptional and very responsive to our request. She provided the highest quality of customer service and professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Alice S,

Thank you for your review and your positive mention of Mala. Our staff prides themselves on being friendly and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear that she left such a favorable impression. Mala is such an assist to us at Comfort Inn Monterey By the Sea! I have shared your great compliments with her and she joins me in thanking you for such high praise!

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant service the next time you are in town.

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wonderful, friendly service. Arrived too early to get into our room , but desk manager checked us in and gave us our key early. Room was comfortable, hotel is quaint, clean, easy to find. Will stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Pam G.

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review! I am delighted that the front desk was able to accommodate you with the early check in. Our first priority at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea is customer service. Our housekeepers work so hard to make sure that the hotel is in pristine condition.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the Monterey area!

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was ok. Breakfast for USA was really good. The coffee slightly thin - but nevertheless an all around good stay for one night before hitting HWY#1. Internet is free and the code provided without asking during check in. The staff is friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lamaril,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our delicious complimentary hot breakfast is a delightful way to start your day. Guest service is our first priority at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, and everyone on our team is delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much.

Safe Travels on HWY#1,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.