We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built as Motel, now a Comfort Inn with flowers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Built as Motel, now a Comfort Inn with flowers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is an older property; two-storey motel-style building. So be sure to book Ground Floor is you can't handle stairs.
At 4pm our room was not ready so Front Desk asked us to come back 4:30 or 5pm.
Rooms clean but cramped by modern standards.
Our door was under a flight of stairs but no noise in the night.
Breakfast room is far too small.
The gardens are very well done & flowers exceptional.
The 'motel' image has a certain charm; but room improvements should be made.

Room Tip: Book ground floor if you need it. Breakfast room is located between Lobby & street - quite a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear ONLY2B,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and our property. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our brilliant and vibrant gardens. Our maintenance team does a wonderful job keeping our grounds beautiful for our guests. I appreciate the tips you left for fellow travelers. I’m sure it will be must appreciated by our future guests. I’m sorry about the delay in getting you in your room. We want our rooms to be perfect for you. I hope you will come stay with us when travel brings you our way again!

Warm Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    191
    106
    34
    20
See reviews for
177
183
23
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our drive from LA to San Francisco as it was close to the Big Sur area.
The place is great, clean, comfortable with friendly staff and in a great location close to Highway 1 and also close to the town centre.
Check in was quick and easy and our room was huge, the bed was very comfortable. If I am ever in the area again this place would be my first choice to stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mundo61,

Wow! We are thrilled to be your first choice in accommodations in Monterey! Thank you! I’m so happy to hear you found our hotel clean, comfortable, and in a great location. Monterey has a vast number of things to do, so it helps that we are in such a central location for our guests. Thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We want you to know how much you much your kind remarks mean to us! Thank you again, and we hope to see you on your way home from San Francisco!

Travel safe!
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The accommodations at Comfort Inn Monterey By the Sea was very good. Mala, a guest relations staff, was exceptional and very responsive to our request. She provided the highest quality of customer service and professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Alice S,

Thank you for your review and your positive mention of Mala. Our staff prides themselves on being friendly and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear that she left such a favorable impression. Mala is such an assist to us at Comfort Inn Monterey By the Sea! I have shared your great compliments with her and she joins me in thanking you for such high praise!

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant service the next time you are in town.

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wonderful, friendly service. Arrived too early to get into our room , but desk manager checked us in and gave us our key early. Room was comfortable, hotel is quaint, clean, easy to find. Will stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Pam G.

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review! I am delighted that the front desk was able to accommodate you with the early check in. Our first priority at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea is customer service. Our housekeepers work so hard to make sure that the hotel is in pristine condition.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the Monterey area!

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was ok. Breakfast for USA was really good. The coffee slightly thin - but nevertheless an all around good stay for one night before hitting HWY#1. Internet is free and the code provided without asking during check in. The staff is friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lamaril,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our delicious complimentary hot breakfast is a delightful way to start your day. Guest service is our first priority at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, and everyone on our team is delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much.

Safe Travels on HWY#1,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room was great for the low price. Also, there was an issue with charges for the room and the Front Desk Manager(Janea Elliott) worked countless hours to correct the mistake. She provided exceptional customer service!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Tabby70

First off, please let me thank you for your kind compliments. I am so pleased that we were able to get everything taken care of. Thank you for being patient while I worked with the bank. I am delighted you enjoyed your room.

Please come and visit us again!

Best Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant ridge, mi
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a budget motel. It is priced correctly. It was great for our family bc it had separate rooms. One bedroom with a door and another room with 2 queen beds. Not luxury but we were not going to spend a lot of time there. I little musty. Good breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear drdotbrown,

I am delighted we were able to provide you with a good value motel! I am pleased Comfort Inn – Monterey by the Sea was able to fit your families needs. Our breakfast is so delicious – I am glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.