We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. The location is conveniently close to town and not so far to Carmel. Breakfast is nice. Parking is crowded - it's not easy to find a place to park. So you should do not return late to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Andrea:

We appreciate your feedback. You are correct that parking is tight however we do have enough free parking for all our guests plus few extra spots. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    195
    107
    35
    20
See reviews for
180
186
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We choose this hotel/motel for its location and amenities (in particular free wifi and breakfast that was more than continental style) - and of course the reviews here, and my favorable encounters with Comfort Inns in the past. Had a great price option by being a Choicehotels member, and reserving then through their website.

It worked perfectly for us. We really enjoyed its quaintness and the tidy details of hanging flowers and other plantings, clean public areas, inside and out. Bed was comfortable. Bath area spacious and seemingly somewhat newly remodeled. Shower experience (pressure, hot water) was satisfactory. Floor space in room was adequate, and included the usual small round table and two chairs; no desk/chair piece. Once we checked in, the front desk manager called the room to be sure we were happy and had what we needed. That was a nice customer service touch!

Breakfast suited us well, with options from yogurt, to different toasts and sweet rolls, option to make waffles, and scrambled eggs, sausage, juices, coffee, tea, etc. Even being the holiday weekend, there was not a problem to find a table inside, or outside, to enjoy our morning meal and a newspaper.

Only negative might be the tv service, which does not have the cable channels you might expect elsewhere.

This hotel also has a lot of solar panels on it, if that sort of green aspect to their business is important to you. Shopping center just up the road, including movie theater (which we enjoyed as well).

Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Suzelle:

Thank you for your vote of confidence. It is our pleasure to have served you. My team and I always appreciate such great feedback. We look forward to serving you again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Comfort Inn near a beach...was a little skeptical but it turned out to be fine especially for only one or two nights.

The property has beautiful flowers which gives it a homey feel. The staff is really friendly and recommended activities.

The rooms are updated...not high end but clean and nice. My room had a very large bathroom (only a large walk in shower) but no counter space. I would recommend a bigger counter top because women need something to place their toiletries or make-up while dressing.

The breakfast is the normal free breakfast which is great to have. WiFi worked fine. There is a small table in the room which made it easy for working. There is also a fridge and microwave which came in handy. It is not too far from the highway. They have solar panels so they must be partly Green.

Downside...it is not walking distance to the shore and the parking is limited. Also, these are not comfort inn prices due to the location but was more expensive to stay here than in Carmel which is not far.

Overall it was much better than I expected...and if the price is right I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: I had a room towards the back. It was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Atina1:

I am glad that we were better then what you expected and that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you visit our website or call us direct, you will be able to take advantage of our value offers, package prices and advance rate purchase rates. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASKATOON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent one night at this Comfort Inn. The staff was superb on check-in and check-out! Our room was on the bottom level at the back and it was lovely. Room was very clean and everything was great. Great breakfast, great location and great service! Would highly recommend this hotel for good value and great staff and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Renzieper:

We appreciate your recommendation and recognizing our clean and comfortable rooms, great serve and good value. My team will also appreciate the wonderful comments about the service that we all strive to provide so that our guests have a great stay with us in Monterey. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our room was clean and simple. The location is conveniently close to town, a less than 5 minute drive to the wharf and Cannery row. The free breakfast seemed to have a lot of choices, but folks had to wait a while for items to be replenished. The price seemed overly expensive for the small basic room, but when you consider the popular location of Monterey- I guess it is more of a deal.

Room Tip: I was told there is a newer section with larger rooms, maybe try asking about those?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Apeakhiker:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciated your feedback as it helps us improve upon our services. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Within its class, this Comfort Inn motel is a five-star establishment. This is not to say it is on the same level as the Ritz Carltons and Four Season Hotels, or even the superior Hyatt Regency Monterey, and this is a flaw in the tripadvisor rating system which treats all hotels and motels on the same rating scale. But within its class, this Comfort Inn is truly five stars. Our King Bed room had a nice sized bathroom, not at all cramped, with quick hot running water. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was equipped with a small microwave, a large flat screen TV with lots of channels including HBO, and a small fridge. Ice was readily available too. Check in and check out service by staff was excellent, and the complimentary breakfast was very good, with scrambled eggs, sausage patties, waffles, along with cereals, oat meal, fresh fruits and juices. Does not feel at all like a "budget" motel.

On Munras Ave near the Del Monte Shopping Plaza, it is five minute drive to the wharf area and 10 minutes to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Lots of Parking too. Small exercise room - one treadmill and one ellipitical i believe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Notperfectalas

Wow thank you for the 5 Star accolade in the mid service category!!! We certainly are not in the same level as the Ritz however as you so well pointed out, we strive to provide as many amenities and features as one will find in full service hotels. Many of which are complimentary...breakfast...parking....Wifi...local calls. My team will be happy to read your kind feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The family suite accomadated us and served our needs well. Having two separate bedrooms is perfect when there are several adults as well as children. Our party consisted of 3 adults and 2 children. We used the Pack n Play for our 8 month old. We were not given a sheet for it, but we happened to bring one just in case. My only complaint would be the beds. Each time we laid down - a loud springy sound. Boing! Quite funny, but not super comfortable. Overall we were pleased with the space. However - if I were to come to Monterey again with only 2 adults and children - I would choose another hotel closer to the water with 2 Queens. That would suit us fine.
The front desk was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Unless you absolutely need the space - I'd suggest moving a little closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
CAGrand:

So glad you enjoyed our family room. It certainly is convenient when travelling with children or larger parties. I have shared your comments with my team as it helps improve upon our excellent services that we strive to provide to all of our guests.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.