We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable! Rooms are small that have one bed but the comfort of the bed more than made up for lack of space! Breakfast was adequate and had a variety of hot and cold items. Staff friendly and helpful with directions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Carol:

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable. FYI for future we do have rooms with 2 beds and family rooms that can accommodate families and multiple people in room. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    162
    85
    31
    19
See reviews for
147
152
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Clean and new-looking rooms, but quite small. The walls were very thin. We could hear the guests in the room next to ours even though they were not noisy. We really needed to do our laundry and since this hotel doesn't have a guest laundry, we had to switch hotels after one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
TJS245,

So sorry you had to switch hotels after one night stay due to not having guest laundry facilities. But we are glad you enjoyed rest of our amenities and hotel for one night! For future, we do have a laundromat that is located less then a mile away from our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn last month while relocating to the Carmel area. Our room was spotless and comfortable, The best part of our stay was front desk staff member Pete Guzman. His friendliness, professionalism and knowledge of the area was amazing. We would highly recommend this hotel to all visitors. And, ask for Pete ... he made our stay memorable! Jan P.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
290JDP

Welcome to your new home! We appreciate your reccomendations. I am glad that we were able to help you during your relocation to Carmel and that your stay was memorable. My team strives to provide the excellent service to all our guests and I will certainly share your comments with Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've stayed here 6 times over the last 20 years. Every time was pleasant and quite. The prices are good for the area and the location is great. I will be back this summer. It's out of town so you have to drive to get anywhere, but you make up for it with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Jim W:

It makes us so proud that you have continued to choose to stay with us over the last 20 years. Especially since we know you have many options to choose from when deciding where to stay in Monterey. We very much appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Easy access to restaurants, places of interest in town - but even better access to shops across the road for groceries/ last minute supplies etc. Room was clean and a bit on the smaller side with a king size bed, had a microwave and bar fridge in each room. There is a fitness centre that has two cardio machines and a small multi-centre cable system. Breakfast consisted of a continental with some cereals, waffles, scrambled eggs and patties (hot option), toast etc. Bathroom had a bit of a funky smell, but at least there was an extractor fan and window that opened.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Jaro B

Appreciate you taking the time in providing us your feedback as it helps improve upon our services. Our location is ideal to many attractions in Monterey and Del Monte Shopping Center nearby is very convenient to walking distance. Glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast too. We look forward to serving you on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pro:
Room clean and quite modern.
The organization of the hotel is like a motel: each room has the door directly to outside of the building.
Breakfast is in the average of the hotel category.
Good WIFI.

Con:
Bathroom: the shower door was old and with some mold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It helps us improve upon the services that we stove to provide for all our guests. I am glad that your stay was satisfactory and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The management of this hotel was amazing as well as the cleaning staff...They really catered to our wants and needs and it was greatly appreciated....
Our boys enjoyed the heated pool daily ( I mean heated!!)
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea gave our boys what they wanted for Christmas....a ocean filled vacation for our family (including dog)...
Thank you from Canada!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Porterhouse:

So extremely pleased that we provided such a great stay for you and your family during Christmas holidays. We strive to do this year around but just seems extra special l during the holidays.... My team will appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.