We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs. Our room was very clean and the bed was nice and comfortable. We enjoyed the selections and the hot complementary breakfast. We are defintely coming back to stay at your resort.

Eric and Karen
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Eric:

We too look forward to having you come back and visit us! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and am glad you enjoyed our hotel and especially our friendly and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    132
    78
    30
    19
See reviews for
127
125
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this motel style accomodation as a stopover whilst touring down Big Sur before leaving for Yosemite. It was an inexpensive choice which had basic breakfast choices included.

We were checked in quickly, our rooms were basic and a little tired, to be honest we expected this, and I have rated the accomodation as very good against alternatives in the same price bracket, not against full service hotels, obviously.

It is located a few miles from Cannery Row and the wharfs, no problem with a vehicle on hand. All the motels appear to be situated on this road. I have no problem in recommending this as a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Boronet:

We are glad that you were able to enjoy a stopover to Monterey on your way to Yosemite. We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review and thank you for your business and recommendations. Have a great rest of the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean and the bathroom was HUGE. There were about 15 motels down the road from us; we were glad we picked this one! We have a large truck and sometimes have trouble parking, but this motel had TWO parking lots and we were able to accommodate the truck with no problem. The staff was friendly. The weather was perfect. There was a fridge in the room. Breakfast was plentiful, good coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Jean B:

So glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. As you mentioned we are on motel row thus guests have many choices and am glad that you chose us. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms, friendly service and much more all at a good value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the moment we checked in, we were met with great customer service and such a willingness to help from the staff behind the front desk, especially Pete. He was professional and understanding, given that we had broken down earlier in the day and were flustered and tired. His uplifting, encouraging attitude was comforting after the terrible experience we had just been through. Also, within minutes of checking in, a courtesy call from the front desk was made to ensure all of our needs were met. The hotel itself was quaint, clean, and at a great location (close to Cannery Row and the wharf). I would definitely recommend this hotel - you will be well taken care of!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so glad that we were able to "take care" of you when you were tired and frustrated and that you had a restful stay with us. Pete will be happy to hear about your compliments to him. Hope you are able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westcoast_canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at this Comfort Inn for two nights as part of a California road-trip. The hotel is located along a main road alongside several other hotels. The Comfort is is easy to locate and is almost across from the Del Monte Shopping Center which offers some great shopping. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, always smiling and were very attentive. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Our room only had a shower stall, no bathtub which was fine. It was nice that the room included a safe and fridge. The morning breakfast was good, I liked how they had actual plates rather than paper or plastic, there was plenty of breakfast options and enough room for everyone to sit. The outdoor pool was clean and very warm which is nice as it was chilly in the evenings. I would recommend this property to others visiting Monterey, we paid $76 one night and $86 the other, which was great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
West Coast Canada:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Helps us to continue to deliver excellent service to our guest. I am glad you got a good value at our Comfort Inn in Monterey. We look forward to serving you again and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastopol, ca
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I mean "cult" in a good way.... Seriously... I've never seen such a group of smiling, friendly employees, ready to engage in a conversation, outside of movies about cults!

I arrived and was quickly greeted, though the desk person was giving helpful hints to the person who came before me. I was checked into a very quiet downstairs room. Nothing fancy, but everything I needed. The front desk quickly called to make sure the room was fine. I slept really well-- and appreciated that the tiny bathroom window opened for fresh air through the night... as well as the well-thought-out lighted switch in the bathroom to make things easy in the middle of the night. Flowers blooming in the front. They have made a real effort to make this simple place seem special.

Breakfast was appreciated with a surprising variety. (fresh fruit and yogurt were especially appreciated. others were enjoying the waffles, eggs and sausage.) Once again, I was impressed with the super-busy, yet super-friendly woman running the breakfast. I don't know how she keeps her cool with so many demands-- let alone smiling and asking everyone if everything was ok.

Super clean room and very firm and comfy bed. TV included HBO.

Checkout was equally friendly and very quick.

One bone to pick. My mind was on other things during checkout and I may not have seemed like the happiest person in the world... and after paying, I stopped to check my messages in the lobby area. I heard the clerk ask the next (very friendly and happy) person if she would like a card in order to leave feedback online. I had not been asked the same... and have to wonder if it was because I didn't seem as pleased. I certainly hope that they are not picking-and-choosing people to leave feedback!

This was a great stay at a simple and reasonable inn. I scoured the internet for a good rate, ant this one came in by far the best for the area. I think they are doing a great job at this price point. Would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Kawh:

Ahhh what a wonderful analogy! So glad you had a fantastic time at our hotel. I always like to think that our happy work environment reflects upon the service all my team members portray to our guests. My team will be happy to read your kind words. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Easily accessible property on main road with plenty of room in parking lot. This was handy as it makes check in easier. Check in was straightforward with room right at front. This did not affect us as no evident road noise or from ppeople passing by. Front desk called in first 30 mins to check if we were ok. Room was average size with small closet in back corner. Bathroom size was good with shower only. Large vanity area for those who need it.
Overall clean, relatively modern furnishings with well lit room. Not noisy. It was close to Del Monte shopping precinct which was has supermarket, restaurants, cinema and major stores.
Breakfast bar was ok with usual choices and they kept the food up to cater for the 30 odd people eating at same time as us.
Would stay again if looking for place to break up road trip on highway 1.
Only downer was the fog stretching along coast socould not see much.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Bob:

Ahh the Fog, does put a damper when you are travelling down the Coast, especially in the early mornings. The views off Highway 1 are spectacular. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and recommending our hotel and we do forward to seeing you again on your return trip to Central Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.