We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, External Entry Doors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place, External Entry Doors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

So this would be more of what I would consider a motel set up. Room doors are external. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a room with a king bed in one area and a single bed in a separate area that had a door for privacy. The single bed area was very small, but worked fine for us. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, although not all room have these (I think the rooms with 2 queen beds do not have these). Very large bathroom in our room, but the rooms with just a king bed have very small bath areas. This is a pet friendly hotel, so beware if you have allergies. They have certain rooms they allow pets in. Breakfast did not start until 7am. The food was typical of Comfort Inn, although the apples were Fuji and not the typical Red Delicious which made my day! Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have several room types ranging from size from single Queens to Family Rooms. Best to call hotel direct if guest has specific accommodations on mind. Good observation on apples. We frequently change our fruit selection so that we can take advantage of the best in season. Do you know currently in a local grocery store I recently counted 14 variety of apples in season. Apple heaven!
From us here at Comfort Inn, Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    103
    64
    25
    17
See reviews for
98
83
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, Califorinia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a very well run hotel. One that knows how to mix a very clean hotel with a very relaxing easy going place. The price is very good for all the great extras it comes with. The Internet is great! The free breakfast is wonderful. Very clean rooms with very solid wall that make for a very quiet stay. Location is perfect for us. Not in the middle of the tourist area. But close enough to walk. My daughter would get up and take a nice run to the beach and the down town area and back. We will stay here again the next time we are back in the area. Very wonderful place to stay!!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Comfort Inn. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to serving you in the near future. In the meantime Happy Holidays to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I have to say this is by far the best priced, highest quality comfort inn I have stayed in. From check in to check out smooth,restful and the rooms are incredibly clean. The exterior clean and inviting just what you expect from a sleepy coastal town. Cannery row is minutes away and driving around is a must do.

The exercise room has to be the biggest downside I suppose I'm looking for free weights and the perks of a gym. This is good for quick jog and basic basic stretching and weights.

Breakfast at choice hotels has Wyndham hotels beat and the price is to die for! Keep up the amazing job choice hotels I will be returning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I like it" Comfort in Comfort Inn!" Thank you for your kind words. We realize that you have many choices and rated us "by far the best prices, highest quality comfort inn" and better breakfast then Wyndham! We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to Monterey.

Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here on the second "leg" of our Pacific Highway roadtrip. Another lovely Comfort Inn. Very convenient to all of the places we wanted to see (Bay, Marina, Cannery Row, etc.). Another good breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our hospitality including our complimentary breakfast. We realize that you have many choices and appreciate you choosing our Comfort Inn in Monterey. We look forward to having you stay with us when you come on a third "leg" down to the Pacific Highway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at a room with 3 queen beds - 2 in the main room and 1 in a separate room. There were three of us and we were glad no need to share a bed. We made the reservation from the hotel's own website and the rate was unbeatable. We don't really care about the decoration of the room. For us, the space is more important. Therefore, this hotel really met our needs. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. The room was quite but the AC/Heater unit was noisy. Internet signal was ok. We had no problem with it. Breakfast was adequate and we enjoyed it.

However, there were 3 things I want to complain about.

(1) Outside signage had no light. We arrived in the evening and the entrance was hard to see from the street.

(2) When we checked in, the front desk staff did not give us enough direction to find our room which was 10 steps below the ground floor. We did not even see the stairs in the dark when we first looked for our room. We had to go back to the lobby to ask.

(3) When we went back to the lobby to ask where our room was located, the staff asked for our room number. As we were a group of 3 female, we did not want to announce our room number loudly in the public area for the safety reason. However, after I showed the room number to the staff, he read it out loud!! I just wish he had more sense about why I showed him the number instead of reading it to him.

Overall, this hotel was better than expected. We will return.

Room Tip: Two room suite with 3 queen beds is very specious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am glad that you were able to find the best deal via our hotel website and that you liked our room with the three queen beds. Works well when you don't prefer sharing a bed! I would also like to thank you for your three comments. We always want to improve upon our service and want to let you know that we have already taken steps to improve upon our service to our guest.

We look forward to serving you when you return to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed two nights at this very basic motel and it provided what we needed for a tourist stop-over. The room was small and clean and opened to the parking lot. One thing that could be an issue for larger people is the size of the shower. There is no bath tub and the shower opening was very small. It was also difficult to adjust the water temp in the shower. We always bring travel pillows because most small motels have pillows that are hard and this place was no exception. Breakfast was simple but enough to hold us over until lunch.
Overall this Comfort Inn is as offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service areas. The housekeeping people start early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and are glad that your overall stay was satisfactory. Your reservation was in a room that had showers only. We do have rooms with bath tubs which you can enjoy on your return trip.Thanks again, and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love these type of motels -- Reminded me of the old motor inns -- Stayed in room with 2 double beds -- cottage type single story room -- It is no frills -- and no elevator if you intend on staying on upper floor -- Surprisingly quite as it is near busy road -- Short drive to Monterey tourist area -- I really liked it as it was clean -- remodeled and large bath -- and I am certain great rates as would be compared to areas closer to Cannery Row area -- No complaints on this place -- Loved It -- and would stay again if in the area --

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. Our hotel provides the charm that is so reminiscent of Historic Monterey and charming Carmel. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel
Comfort Inn Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.