We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Tourist Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Basic Tourist Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed two nights at this very basic motel and it provided what we needed for a tourist stop-over. The room was small and clean and opened to the parking lot. One thing that could be an issue for larger people is the size of the shower. There is no bath tub and the shower opening was very small. It was also difficult to adjust the water temp in the shower. We always bring travel pillows because most small motels have pillows that are hard and this place was no exception. Breakfast was simple but enough to hold us over until lunch.
Overall this Comfort Inn is as offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service areas. The housekeeping people start early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and are glad that your overall stay was satisfactory. Your reservation was in a room that had showers only. We do have rooms with bath tubs which you can enjoy on your return trip.Thanks again, and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    123
    75
    29
    19
See reviews for
120
117
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love these type of motels -- Reminded me of the old motor inns -- Stayed in room with 2 double beds -- cottage type single story room -- It is no frills -- and no elevator if you intend on staying on upper floor -- Surprisingly quite as it is near busy road -- Short drive to Monterey tourist area -- I really liked it as it was clean -- remodeled and large bath -- and I am certain great rates as would be compared to areas closer to Cannery Row area -- No complaints on this place -- Loved It -- and would stay again if in the area --

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. Our hotel provides the charm that is so reminiscent of Historic Monterey and charming Carmel. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel is ideally situated to just off highway c1 and close to everywhere we planned to visit. The room was small but they still managed to house a king sized bed in it, not a problem, we were only there for the night .

The front of desk staff were helpful explaining that although the pool was closed we could make use of one next door.

The room was clean and tidy and we had a great nights sleep followed by a breakfast in a very clean restaurant. The restaurant was well stocked with food and it was great that they used as standard real mugs, plates cereal bowls not the normal plastic throw always you get at many comfort inns.

Room Tip: We slept in one of the single storey rooms and had a great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and were glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great night's sleep. We do have 2 pools and the smaller pool is closed for maintenance, however the larger pool is open year around. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in Monterey that wasn't going to break the bank and get us pretty close to the aquarium. The Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea fit the bill. Clean. Well kept. Good service. The room was the smallest of all the rooms we had on our two week trip where we stayed in several reasonably priced hotels. But, this is Monterey. Breakfast was the usual. All in all, a pretty good place to stay for a quick night and then moving on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate your business and are glad that you found out hotel up to your liking especially the location being near the Monterey Aquarium. If travelling with family, ask for our family rooms which provide more space. Also our Jacuzzi suite offers more space. Again thanks for your business and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights while traveling around the region. The room was clean and a good breakfast in the morning. We got a good offer and the room was better than expected for that price.

I recommend it if you do not need too much facilities and just a clean and well placed hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the great location in Monterey. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you come see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located near a small shopping center with several restaurants, the hotel was for us an excellent choice for a two-night stay. Easy to find and accessible from but not next to the freeway, it appears to be the result of combining two adjoining smaller motels from an earlier time, each with a separate entrance and pool. We stayed in a second floor unit (no elevator), that was large and very clean, with comfortable king bed, small micowave and refrigerator. WiFi worked the second day, after technical probelms the first, but there was a free desktop computer in the lobby. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional, especially in dealing with the wrath of a loud guest, complaining about the lack of WiFi (and -- our impression -- trying to get them to comp him something). Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn, with cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, baked goods and bagels, make-your-own waffles and scrambled eggs. The breakfast room was average size, complemented by outdoor seating, and not crowded while we were there. Of the two pools, the one nearest the office was closed, and only after inquiry did we learn there was another, very nice and comfortably heated to about 90 degrees. Our only concern was that it appeared our room did not have a fire sprinkler, perhaps reflecting the original age of the unit. The whole hotel was beautifully landscaped with flowering plants and was very attractive. We definitely would stay again. HINT: hotels can sell you a pass to the Aquarium at a one day price that is good for two days, and you can avoid standing in long lines to get in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and giving us constructive feedback. We always value our guests input and try to better our hotel so that our guests enjoy their stay in our beautiful city. Yes we did have technical issues with our internet during those 2 days as we were switching our Internet Service Provider (providing 24/7 day support to our guests). All solved, so we are good to go! Our front desk survived that one particular guest's "wrath"! Also, you are correct we do not have fire sprinklers as we are exterior corridor hotel but we do have smoke detectors in every room which are regularly inspected by our maintenance staff plus the Fire Marshal. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is quite dated, it doesn't even look like a Comfort Inn, more like an old Days' Inn. But it was OK for one night. There's a great little Vietnamese joint next door and it's convenient to town. Hotels in Monterey are outrageously expensive, and it just seems ridiculous to pay more than what this place charged (and it still wasn't cheap) for one night when on the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. You are correct that our hotel does not look like a typical Comfort Inn. In Monterey if you noticed, most hotels are not the stereotypical facades. Monterey hotels have a unique look more reminiscent of hotels in a small beach town location. Also please do visit our website (also mobile friendly) for value offers and packages for better deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.