We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the sea is a long stretch!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“By the sea is a long stretch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Pretty average accomodation a long way from the beach. By the sea only if global wrming causes the coastline to move inland some miles!

As long as you know you are getting cheap accomodation, then I guess it is Ok

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We are glad we provided you with a value stay at our Comfort Inn. Though not walking distance to the beach, we are the closest Comfort Inn to the beach which is located less then 2miles (1.5 miles) away. About 5 minutes drive. Plus we have several other beaches which are located within 8 miles. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    160
    84
    31
    19
See reviews for
145
149
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We contacted the Motel and talked to 'Jayme'. She is outstanding. She, truly, walked the extra mile getting us a room. With the AAA and the coupon (Jayme took care of that) from Comfort Inn we really got a deal. Good enough to spend an extra day in Monterey. Parked the bike right in front of the (ground level) room. The area is quiet and there is a laundry a block away, nobody messed with the bike. Seemed to be a lot of Law Enforcement moving around the area - in a good way. There are 'street people' wondering about, but they seem to know their limits. This seems to be true for all of Monterey that we saw.

The TV is nothing extra, but we are not on the road to watch TV. The bath room is good size and the shower head is over my head (I'm over 6'). The WiFi is good, not secured, but good. There are plenty of delivery restaurants near by. Monterey is a difficult town to drive/ride in. Lot of one way streets and no left turns. So, getting to the motel can be a challenge sometimes.

It was well worth the money spent. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you're on a motorcycle, make it clear you want it near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to find your way around on your Bike. What a great way to experience Monterey especially our Coastal Trails along Pacific Coast.! We appreciate your feedback. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the room. We were fortunate to be in the back and had two rooms (184 and 185). The lush garden made us feel like we were in the mountains. We will definately stay there again. The breakfast was very nice, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, toast, and fruit. It was a great inexpensive way to start the day. It surpassed our expectations. Clean and comfy beds. It out did the Portola!

Room Tip: Request the rooms in the back, you have to go down a set of stairs but well worth the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Wow what a compliment...outdid the Portola Plaza Hotel. Thanks and we appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel was fine for the price; everything you needed was in the room and the bathroom even had a window. It's in the same vicinity as many other hotels of the same standard although this one had the best rates at the time. I recommend searching on choicehotels.com and calling the hotel directly to get the cheapest rates. The breakfast was good, a lot to choose from even the pickiest breakfast eater would find something to contend with.
It's the ideal hotel for you to lay down your head after a long day exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Accommodations at this property were adequate for the area and the price. Nothing fancy, but suited our needs for one night. Breakfast was the usual continental, with some eggs and waffles. Staff in the breakfast buffet area was excellent and very accommodating. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your return trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The rack rates at this motel are outrageous for the tiny rooms with cheap furniture and appliances. The location is right on a strip of similar motels and there's not much without a good walk along very busy thoroughfares. We were glad to be able to bring our dog, but we only slept in the room and spent as much time as possible away from this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We appreciate your feedback. Our rates are slightly higher during Summer months and during Special Events. We do offer value packages and deals on our website. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Surprisingly pleased with this. Lovely outside, very pleasant room/suite, with a separate kid's bedroom. Free breakfast far exceeded (admitedly low) expectations. Well located for Monetery / Carmel / 17 mile drive etc. Clean, comfortable, good value and service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.