We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Monterey to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
A TripAdvisor Member
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

one of the cleanest rooms I have stayed in. Roomy and quiet. Breakfast was very good warmfood fresh fruit. Easy access to parking. Will definitely stay again and consider other quinta establishments when traveling. This was our 1st stay at a quinta.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such a kind review! We are really delighted that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, and the hotel service and appreciate your letting us know this. Please come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    134
    60
    11
    15
See reviews for
133
115
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was disappointing for almost $200 a night room! can't understand how this hotel got 4 out 5 rating. The place is old, lots of mild dew in the bathroom, corners have thick trace of dirt, carpets are sticky to walk on, the smell of the room is musty, linens are almost ready to retire, mattresses sinks in the middle without anybody on it and linens & pillows smelled like it had smoking residue. If this was $50/ night, it is an acceptable condition. Free breakfast was ok. I don't mind old places as long as they are clean . This is definitely not. We can't go back here.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you are particular about cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We're very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience at the hotel, but thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve. Many of our guests have complimented us on the same issues that were problematic for you, but then everyone's experience is a little different. We do appreciate your feedback and will consider your comments carefully. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took our grandchildren to Monterey for 3 nights, we loved the CLEAN accommodations. The personal were helpful, friendly and all around great attitude. I have grown to TRUST La Quinta's, I have stayed in many of them and this one did not disappoint. Great Job La Quinta good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed our property and staff, and we hope to have you with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July 2013 for three days. It was an older La Quinta but it seem clean and everyone seemed friendly. It was very close to everything we wanted to go and see and the walking/biking path was right outside the door of the hotel. The breakfast area is a bit small but the food was very good and lots of choices. The only disappointment was that I left a pair of my favorite shoes in the room and when I called back to check on how I could have them sent I was told that there were no shoes found in my room. I know exactly where I left them and it was in the room...so that kinda makes me nervous about staying there again because someone on their housekeeping staff is not trustworthy and they come into your room while you are gone to clean up and that makes me a bit nervous about leaving items in room while out on site seeing trips. But otherwise our stay was quite nice and I did love the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and am glad that our location and breakfast worked well for you. At the same time, I am very sorry to hear that your shoes are missing. Our housekeeping staff have been with us for years and we trust them implicitly. If your shoes were left in your room after checkout, it is possible that one of our housekeepers mistakenly disposed of them. I am sorry if this is the case, but I can assure you it is an uncommon occurrence. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope to see you the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Exactly what I look for in a hotel. Clean rooms, helpful staff and a good nights sleep.
A short drive to the attractions of Monterey. A short walk to remote scenic beach.
Breakfast was well stocked although the standard continental fare with the addition of scrambled eggs and either bacon or sausage rotated daily I believe.
Coffee was available 24/7 a big plus. A pool was the only amenity my kids missed.
Helpful staff was knowledgeable about the area and attractions pointed out 2 days for 1 deal at the Monterey Aquarium using their hotel portal to buy tickets.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
And thank you for a great review! We're so happy that you liked the hotel, and thanks so much for letting us know. I'm sorry about the pool, and wish that we had one to offer our guests. Unfortunately the City of Monterey's very strict water restrictions prohibit us from building one (or even a hot tub). Thank you for your understanding on this... and please come back and see us again next time you're nearby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've had good luck with the staff at just about all the La Quintas we've stayed at, but this place was really tops in that department. Aaron was so helpful, with recommendations on everything from great restaurants to which stores would have what we were looking for, etc., and maps to help us get anywhere we needed to go. Their free breakfast even had hot options like scrambled eggs and bacon, along with the usuals. Good clean rooms, quiet but handy location. We'd definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful recommendation! We are so glad that you liked the hotel and that Aaron was able to help you navigate your way around town. Thank you for letting us know, and please come back and see us next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Monterey

Address: 2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Monterey is a moderately priced hotel conveniently located off Highway 1 in Monterey, California just 2 blocks from Del Monte Beach. Offering a wide range of features and amenities for government and leisure travelers, the La Quinta Inn is situated just steps from the beautiful Monterey Bay and just 3 miles from the Monterey Peninsula Airport. The La Quinta Inn offers 48 newly renovated deluxe guest rooms, all with comfortable beds, deluxe bedding and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Monterey
Monterey La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.