We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious enough for a livingroom area!!! Nice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Monterey to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spacious enough for a livingroom area!!! Nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Upon arrival, check in was not met with an enthusiastic welcome. The first thought I had of our room (220), "Glad I only paid $109.00", second "No down comforter! :( " and third " Why is there rusty, red water coming out of the shower faucet?". After a night out on the town, I was happy to have a nice bed to fall into....I woke up around 3am to an odd smell, like mold or old carpet. The morning light brought to my attention the bathroom, it was in some disarray and could use DIY channel expertise to fix some of the water damage to the shower and surrounding walls. The final eye catching feature was the tile floor, in need of some special cleaning.... I would stay again, since it was only 1 mile from the beach!!! All in all, If I had to compare it to another like hotel, it would be similar to a Motel 6 with 3 Stars.

Room Tip: Did not hear traffic, only noise was the mini fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It seems as though the hotel met your basic needs, although there were certainly some issues that we need to address.

First I'd like to mention that we are just getting ready to embark upon a full-scale remodel of the property, which will take some time to accomplish but we feel sure that it will have a really nice result.

Regarding down comforters, our franchise dictates to us exactly which type of bedding we may use, so unfortunately the down isn't an option for us.

And finally, I'm so sorry that your reception seemed less than ideal upon your arrival. We will certainly discuss your comment with our desk staff.

Thanks again for writing, we do hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    134
    60
    11
    15
See reviews for
133
115
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Sure, my friends all paid $240+ per night for their hotel room facing the beach, but I paid only $109 per night and am just as happy. The La Quinta Inn, Monterey, Ca is clean and fairly modern, with a very nice and friendly staff. My room hotel-wise was at the end of the hall on the third floor, and I never heard a neighboring room. However, my room DID face the street and there was a decent amount of traffic noise during the day, but at night it was very quiet. I didn't try the free breakfast, but considering so many hotels no longer offer such an amenity, it is nice La Quinta still does. My room was spotless and smelled very clean and fresh upon my arrival. Parking is free, which is not the case in all other area hotels. The grounds are not large, and there is no pool, gym or other amenities, but the property is well-maintained amd well-lit at night. And, also, there was FREE wi-fi (again, for what most hotels charge for). Thehotel is right next to a small park and walking/running trail, and 2 minutes from the beach. Another perk is that the staff I enountered during my stay lives in the area and gave me some great recommendations for day trips and dining options. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room for the most quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
What a really nice review - wow, you just made our day! Thanks so much.

We like to think that we offer a great value for lodging in Monterey, and are so glad that you agree with us. In addition to keeping our room rates as low as we can, we believe that the free breakfast, Wifi, and parking add a lot of value to our hotel as well.

Reviews like yours let us know that we're on the right track and again, thank you SO much for your generous comments. We look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room. Nice size room and comfortable bed. Not the highest price place to stay in Monterey, but every bit as nice as those charging more. Not in the "heart" of Monterey, but VERY close to get to. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor facing the back, so it was quiet. The hotel is not really facing the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are delighted to hear that you were so happy with the hotel and very much look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to write in, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff here is fabulous!!!! Very friendly and helpful. I wish they had name tags so I could mention the people we dealt with. Great dinner recommendations!! Would stay again if in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments to our staff!! This is really the nicest thing that we could hear, and on behalf of everyone it is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again next time at the La Quinta Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Our family was in Monterey for a weekend of Whale watching and exploring the Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row.
I have stayed at La Quinta Inn's on business trips before so I was hoping this one would meet my expectations and it did and then some.
Our double queen room was very large and spacious and very clean. The onsite covered parking was great on the misty mornings and the complimentary breakfast was very enjoyable. We will be back on our next stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review and generous compliments. We are very happy to hear that the La Quinta Monterey met all of your expectations, and we certainly look forward to seeing you again when you return to Monterey. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was within walking distance to the beach and a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Easy to get to and away from all the hustle n bustle and safe. Nice to have fresh scrambled eggs, waffles, and sausage for breakfast although sausage could have been a little better quality. Good, friendly service and clean hotel throughout. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad to know that the hotel met your needs and we very much look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again for writing in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Monterey

Address: 2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Monterey is a moderately priced hotel conveniently located off Highway 1 in Monterey, California just 2 blocks from Del Monte Beach. Offering a wide range of features and amenities for government and leisure travelers, the La Quinta Inn is situated just steps from the beautiful Monterey Bay and just 3 miles from the Monterey Peninsula Airport. The La Quinta Inn offers 48 newly renovated deluxe guest rooms, all with comfortable beds, deluxe bedding and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, LaQuinta and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Monterey
Monterey La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.