We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Monterey to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Based on reviews in Trip Advisor I chose La Quinta for a recent stay in Monterey and I am glad that I did ! We had a large room (room 316) with a King bed, two chairs and a pull-out sofa bed, a refrigerator and microwave. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was great. The free breakfast is pretty standard fare but adequate for my needs. I especially appreciated the price! We were just looking for a clean quiet place to stay and La Quinta certainly fit the bill!

Room Tip: Room 316 is quiet and overlooks a small lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for writing, we really appreciate knowing that the La Quinta Inn fit the bill so well for you on your recent trip to Monterey! We hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in the area, and thanks again for your terrific review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    134
    60
    11
    15
See reviews for
133
115
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel staff is outstanding. The breakfast service was typical LQ, but better than some that I've seen. Good variety and quantity. The room was well maintained and stocked; the typical LQ room. The free wi-fi is a nice bonus.

Despite being close to a freeway, the traffic noise at night was not a problem. It helps to request a room with "a view of the lake," which is opposite the freeway. Upon check-in I was advised that those rooms are a higher-price upgrade, but I got the lower price as a LQ Rewards member. That also helps getting the best price--registering online in advance on the LQ website with your member number.

Incidentally, don't pass up the in-room coffee provided by LQ. The coffee they serve at breakfast is fine, but that stuff in the little in-room packet is really great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for such a rave review!! We really appreciate the compliments to our staff and property, and I'm particularly happy that you like the coffee so much :) Maybe we'll be giving Starbucks a run for their money soon...

Thanks again for writing and thank you for being our guest. We very much hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I see another review is saying the same thing. This hotel was nice and inexpensive (compared to others in the area), but the room had a musty odor. Also, I noticed that the carpet always seemed to be a little damp. The location is good and the price good, but, if my wife had been with me, she never would have let us stay there.

On the positive side, the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback... we're glad that the hotel suited you as far as location and price, but of course sorry that there were also a couple of issues with your stay. We appreciate your comments and hope you will be back to stay with us another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is a little tricky to get to and you have to drive to get to downtown Monterey and the wharf area. The room we had was very large and clean but a little worn. My biggest criticism is the bathroom. It had a very strong mold smell. The heating lamp had been replaced by a regular money saving swirling light bulb! The staff was just ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review - particularly the heads-up about the issues in your bathroom. We are actually in the beginning stages of a hotel upgrade, but in the meantime will see what we can do about the things that you mentioned. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently went on a trip to Monterey Bay to kayak out around the aquarium, Santa Cruz, etc. and booked LQ Monterey because of the good experiences I have had with them in other states. My girlfriend was concerned about leaving the kayaks on top of the car overnight (it should be noted it had nothing to do with the neighborhood, the area was quite nice) so we asked the front desk clerk Aaron if there was any place we could store them and he promptly offered to lock them up in the hotel's storage room. He even helped us carry them into it and assured us that we could access them 24/7 by asking the front desk. Not only were we able to store them in that storage room overnight, but we were allowed to keep them during the days when we weren't on the water.
Breakfast was better than average with the standard array of good quality muffins, bagels, cereal, yogurt, etc. including waffle makers along with scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage. The staff was very helpful and kind throughout our stay and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
This is fantastic, thanks so much for letting us know that your kayak trip to Monterey went so well! We're so glad to know that the La Quinta worked out well for you and really hope that you'll be back to stay with us again another time. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Monterey

Address: 2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Monterey is a moderately priced hotel conveniently located off Highway 1 in Monterey, California just 2 blocks from Del Monte Beach. Offering a wide range of features and amenities for government and leisure travelers, the La Quinta Inn is situated just steps from the beautiful Monterey Bay and just 3 miles from the Monterey Peninsula Airport. The La Quinta Inn offers 48 newly renovated deluxe guest rooms, all with comfortable beds, deluxe bedding and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Monterey
Monterey La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.