We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More from a La Quinta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Monterey to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Dublin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expected More from a La Quinta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Guess it has been a while since I've stayed at a La Quinta. Think I overpaid for what we got. The bathroom door wouldn't close. The room's glossy white walls and cheap, older carpeting did nothing to warm up the room. The window overlooking the lake was very dirty. I think they are trying, but this place needs an overhaul. The breakfast was just OK and the seating area is really jammed with tables and chairs. But I did check out rates at the nearby Embassy Suites (technically located in Seaside, but very nearby) and I would have paid an additional $50 per night. This LA Quinta is conveniently located within walking distance to our favorite resturant, Monterey Fish House. Monterey is just a tough nut (room rate wise) to crack on weekends in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback on the hotel. As you've noted, Monterey is an expensive place to do business and we really try our best to keep our rates as low as possible, while including amenities such as free breakfast, wifi and parking which our guests seem to appreciate. Again, thanks for your comments as this helps us to gauge how we're doing... we hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    54
    9
    12
See reviews for
124
107
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I travel with our 4children and are fully satisfied. We especially appreciate the above and beyond customer service satisfaction.the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to just about everything :-) plus the bedrooms are clean which is important when traveling with kids. I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are just delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that the room, service, and convenient location suited you so well. Special thanks for your compliments to our staff... we really really appreciate that! Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is a good hotel for the price and what you get. The location is good, staff was good and it is clean. Nothing exciting or exceptional, but perfect for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you so much, we really appreciate your feedback. Please come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very clean and spacious. Just a short distance to the wharf & Aquarium. Great restaurants. The staff is very nice and courtious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
So glad to hear that the hotel worked so well for you, and thanks for the compliments to our staff! We really appreciate it. Hope you had a great visit and please come and see us again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

La Quinta Inns are functional budget hotels so I was expecting a comfortable night without any frills. We stayed for two nights during our west coast trip. The hotel is situated not far off the highway and about a 5 min drive from Monterey and another 5 minutes from the cannery area. Walking would take some time.

The room was a good size, clean and relatively new. The bathroom was functional and an ok size. The only issue I had with the room was, although the sound insulation between rooms was ok, the windows did a poor job keeping outside sounds out. Even though the room faced a quiet side road a refrigeration lorry was parked up for the night with its motors running and the sound was quite intrusive.

The Inn has free parking but only one lift and one flight of access stairs. The lift broke down during our stay but was quickly fixed. The lift during peek times does tend to get quite busy.

Breakfast gets crowded even with a half full hotel and amounts to a standard selection. I would not suggest going near the so called sausages or other couple of hot food options and the waffle maker is not worth the hassle. There is however enough stuff to fill a hole, but allow a good amount of time for the toaster to finally do its job.

All in all this is a comfortable place to stay if you are visiting Monterey or just stopping off for the night on the coastal highway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We're very glad to hear that your stay went well and that you were pleased with your room and the value of the hotel. I'm so sorry that the truck parked outside was noisy enough to cause a problem, and really apologize for that.

Being a small hotel with only 48 rooms it would be difficult to justify an additional elevator up to the third floor, but I would like to note that we actually have two stairways. Sorry that this wasn't made clear to you.

Thanks again for your review, we appreciate getting our guests' feedback! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel was pretty quiet, the beds were average and the breakfast was pretty good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The location is easy on/off to Hwy 1 but is about a 15 minute drive to Cannery Row, the Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, we're happy that you were able to stay with us while you were in town and hope that you will be able to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Monterey

Address: 2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Monterey is a moderately priced hotel conveniently located off Highway 1 in Monterey, California just 2 blocks from Del Monte Beach. Offering a wide range of features and amenities for government and leisure travelers, the La Quinta Inn is situated just steps from the beautiful Monterey Bay and just 3 miles from the Monterey Peninsula Airport. The La Quinta Inn offers 48 newly renovated deluxe guest rooms, all with comfortable beds, deluxe bedding and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Monterey
Monterey La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.