We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Monterey to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Functional hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

La Quinta Inns are functional budget hotels so I was expecting a comfortable night without any frills. We stayed for two nights during our west coast trip. The hotel is situated not far off the highway and about a 5 min drive from Monterey and another 5 minutes from the cannery area. Walking would take some time.

The room was a good size, clean and relatively new. The bathroom was functional and an ok size. The only issue I had with the room was, although the sound insulation between rooms was ok, the windows did a poor job keeping outside sounds out. Even though the room faced a quiet side road a refrigeration lorry was parked up for the night with its motors running and the sound was quite intrusive.

The Inn has free parking but only one lift and one flight of access stairs. The lift broke down during our stay but was quickly fixed. The lift during peek times does tend to get quite busy.

Breakfast gets crowded even with a half full hotel and amounts to a standard selection. I would not suggest going near the so called sausages or other couple of hot food options and the waffle maker is not worth the hassle. There is however enough stuff to fill a hole, but allow a good amount of time for the toaster to finally do its job.

All in all this is a comfortable place to stay if you are visiting Monterey or just stopping off for the night on the coastal highway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We're very glad to hear that your stay went well and that you were pleased with your room and the value of the hotel. I'm so sorry that the truck parked outside was noisy enough to cause a problem, and really apologize for that.

Being a small hotel with only 48 rooms it would be difficult to justify an additional elevator up to the third floor, but I would like to note that we actually have two stairways. Sorry that this wasn't made clear to you.

Thanks again for your review, we appreciate getting our guests' feedback! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    120
    54
    9
    12
See reviews for
123
104
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel was pretty quiet, the beds were average and the breakfast was pretty good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The location is easy on/off to Hwy 1 but is about a 15 minute drive to Cannery Row, the Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, we're happy that you were able to stay with us while you were in town and hope that you will be able to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 4/23/12 as a starting point for a "sisters trip" down Hwy 1 and the CA coast. We didn't have high expectations and were just looking for a reasonably priced room to sleep for a night but were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The price (using an AARP discount) was extremely reasonable for the Monterey area. The location is very convenient to Hwy 1/101 and it's just a short drive to the wharf and cannery row area. The front desk staff person was exceptional at check-in - the hotel wasn't crowded so without even having to ask, he gave us a better room away from any road noise and it was clean, nicely furnished and quiet! When we asked for a suggestion for a good Mexican restaurant, he gave us two ideas - one which was very close and the other just a 7 minute drive to El Torito on Cannery Row, right on Monterey Bay, has a parking lot with free parking, good food and service (the spicy mango margarita was excellent!), Bay views and we watched sea otters from our table until it got too dark. Free breakfast the next morning at the hotel was as we expected and was adaquate for our needs.

Room Tip: If you are planning a meal in the wharf/cannery row area, try El Torito which has it's own parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We're so glad to hear that you were happy with the value that you received at the La Quinta Monterey and that our front desk staff were able to help you during your visit! Our goal is to provide the best value for lodging in Monterey that we possibly can, and it is so encouraging to hear from our guests that we are succeeding in this. Thank you so much!!! We're so glad to hear that your trip went well and really hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Caetano do Sul, Brazil
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed at La Quinta Inn Monterey with my wife and 3 years old child during our vacation trip in California. The location is very close to everything in Monterey, what was good – the bad point is that the noise from the 101 highway is very audible from the room, what did not help too much for the sleeping quality. The surroundings of the hotel are quite beautiful and one has direct access to the jogging trail that runs straight to the wharf. The rooms were spacious and we had a microwave and refrigerator, what was important for us. In general, we found this a very good choice for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the La Quinta Inn Monterey! I'm especially glad that you were able to make use of the Monterey Bay Recreational Trail, we are so fortunate to have it running through the property.

We really appreciate your business and your positive feedback, thanks again for writing. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We loved the convenience of the hotel to the Wharf, restaurants and sites to see! The hotel staff was great - had wonderful recommendations for local restaurants. Our room was very nice, bright and clean! Loved the bed! Plenty of places to exercise along the 2 adjacent lakes and the ocean!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Fantastic - thank you so much for your review! We so appreciate your time in letting us know that you enjoyed the hotel, and really hope that you will be back to see us again next time you're in town. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was visiting my sister in Northern Callif and at the last minute decided to visit Monteray the next day. try to find a one night stay for less then $150 in Monteray!! well it was less then that at the LAQuinta , we arrived before the 3-4 arrival and no problem checking in. the hotel smelled new and clean and it was spotless! I loved the big rug in the bathroom and the Toilets really flush w/power. My sister is very fussy and loved the place. We're not the high end luxury travelers and this place was fine for us. we don't use internet so I don't know how well it worked.very easy to get to Cannery & fisherman whaef and a 10 minute walk to the beach near by.The breakfast was fine-,from cold ceral to hot eggs and make your own waffles -its not a fancy eating area but that's not our reqiurement. you don't need to pay the $150-200 plus a night to have a great place to stay in Monteray!!unless you want to in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I think we need to hire you to be our spokeswoman - I couldn't have said it better myself! :)

THANK YOU so much for your great comments... no, we are not in the 'heart' of downtown Monterey, but as you've said so eloquently, if that's not your requirement and you're looking for a great, clean, comfortable place to stay in Monterey that's not as expensive as most of the other 'big' hotels, we think the La Quinta Monterey is a great choice! Thanks so much for your affirmation of this!

We look forward to being able to see you again soon! Thanks again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Monterey

Address: 2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Monterey is a moderately priced hotel conveniently located off Highway 1 in Monterey, California just 2 blocks from Del Monte Beach. Offering a wide range of features and amenities for government and leisure travelers, the La Quinta Inn is situated just steps from the beautiful Monterey Bay and just 3 miles from the Monterey Peninsula Airport. The La Quinta Inn offers 48 newly renovated deluxe guest rooms, all with comfortable beds, deluxe bedding and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Hotel Monterey
La Quinta Monterey
Monterey La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.