We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our usual choice for hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not our usual choice for hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Happily surprised! The hotels we usually stay at were priced too high in this market so based on other reviewers tried this Super 8. Well run with nice friendly staff. Two king sized beds in the room! We are on a roadtrip and needed the guest laundry which worked well. Breakfast was just ok.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are very happy to discover that you had such a pleasant experience with us! I am glad to hear that we have been an important part of your travel convenience. Thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    262
    103
    18
    12
See reviews for
194
235
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Not at the heart of the Monterey tourist areas but if you have a car this will not be a problem. Clean hotel / motel with good facilities, slightly tatty round the edges but no room for complaint due to their low rates. Premium HD cable TV, good free wifi, fridge, coffee maker, air con, free parking, large heated outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
It was a pleasure serving you. We appreciate your time and effort to let us know in this review that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback will be useful in ensuring the satisfaction of our future guests. We value your business and certainly looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Staff was not friendly when I checked in and I felt awkward and had to ask about breakfast.

Room was fine, nothing nice at all but ok clean and fine for a lower-end hotel although I have stayed in much nicer super 8's.

Location good if you have a car. Would be a solid 20 minute walk to wharf. Located very close to a great mall and grocery store.

Easy to get on/off highway.

I would pay more next time for nicer place though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to hear that you liked our great value accommodation. You’ve also mentioned that our staff were not accommodating during your visit. This saddens us, that you felt this way. Most of guests enjoyed their stay- made much better with our excellent staff service. Rest assured that we will discuss these comments of yours with them and hope to have the chance of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed one night on our way from San Francisco to Big Sur. The motel was easy to find and perfectly situated for our purpose. The check in and out was made by friendly and efficient staff, who also gave some good advice about the town.
The room was clean and much bigger than expected and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also big and had everything we needed.
It is within walking distance from downtown, but maybe a bit far from Cannery Row if you like us are tired and it is getting late.
We didn't have the breakfast, but went across the street to the mall and Starbucks instead.
The only thing that we didn´t like was the annoying loud sound from the fridge (a problem we experienced at other motels/hotels too). Never the less, I would not hesitate to stay here again – I was very pleased with what I got for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your satisfaction is our top concern. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay- the clean rooms/bathrooms, comfortable beds and our location that’s close to beautiful sites. We’ll also make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on our visit to Monterey/Santa Cruz/Big Sur areas. This was a convenient hub for our purpose and was a pleasant stay. We never stayed at a Super 8 before, but were pleased overall. The room was large and a nice layout with a huge bathroom and separate sink area. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. Breakfast area was in the main lobby with just counter seating, we ended up eating in the room which was ok with us. Breakfast was simple with pastries and frozen waffles. I ended up getting a carton of liquid egg whites and microwaved them in our room to add to our waffles/toast..no big deal. The price is extremely reasonable and the staff was very friendly in helping us with information about the area. Good nights sleep with both comfy bed and quiet surroundings. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor..no elevator but it was quiet with no one walking above us so we didn't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
It is nice to hear that our property gave you an accommodation that suited your lodging needs. We are pleased to know that you had good night’s sleep, refreshed during breakfast and well- assisted by our staff, especially with suggestions on what places to visit.

Thank you for your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was not what I think of when I here the name Super 8. It was in a nice neighborhood, clean, comfy, and cheap! Located just a short drive from everything around in the area. It is also in walking distance to a few restaurants in a shopping mall across the street

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our goal to deliver great service to every guest so that they feel confident in their selection. Please be assured that we will continuously endeavor in delivering the same pleasant accommodations to you and our future guests. See us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.