We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay made even better by Mike at the desk...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    315
    128
    26
    14
See reviews for
224
298
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is an older property, but it is clean and everything is in working order. If you want a simple, clean place to stay at a very reasonable price in Monterey, this is it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for appreciating the great value we offer at our Hotel. Our aim is to provide an excellent stay to our valued guests at very reasonable prices. Your input helps us in our goal to improve our services and your insight helps in how we can better serve our guests in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The resort is located near Del Monte shopping centre (about 5min walk) but far from the main attractions of Monterey (about 30min walk). Breakfast variety is limited. The tap water is a little so soapy not sure if its the same for all resorts there. The aircon/heater is a little noisy. However it is one of the cheapest resort there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy that you appreciated our accessible and convenient location. We would like you to know that your feedback is valuable in maintaining the high quality of service we deliver to our customers. We apologize for the inconvenience with the water and air conditioner. These will be immediately handled to ensure a more likely stay in the future. Your comments regarding more variety in breakfast served will be also considered. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I'm on a 2+ week trip in CA with 10 different hotel stays. All but one were booked because of tripadvisor reviews. This is the only past read reviews so far that is wrong. Here are my issues:

- hard beds; I woke up with a back ache
- tired rooms and bathroom; the cleaning could be a little better; they should vacuum occasionally along the wall
- there's a plunger in the bathroom - that doesn't give me confidence
- the clock radio doesn't keep time
- the cement floor under the carpet isn't even

The positives
- huge room with a door between the two beds. Great if traveling with kids. Also 2 tvs

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We appreciate that you've brought to our attention your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay in our Hotel. Our customer’s satisfaction is important to us as we want you to feel confident with your selection. The areas that need further improvements which you have included in this review will be assessed and handled accordingly. We want our guests to enjoy a stay they truly deserve for the value they've paid for. We hope that we can make things right with another chance of serving you much better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

we stayed at this hotel due to the favorable reviews on this site. The room was clean but we were told the sofa would be included in the extra cost we paid when we booked the room was included then at check-in was an extra $25.00. The room has paper thin walls you could hear them sneezing in the next room. the other room had quite a lot of people and was so noisy we called lobby twice called 800 number who transferred us to lobby again no answer. On my way to sleep in the car went to the lobby no one there gave up. To make a long story short I slept much more comfortably in my suv. The food is snack stuff for breakfast and they eyeball you as you eat so you don't take too much. Please I beg you for a good nights sleep go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
It is extremely disheartening to hear about your recent stay at our Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to let you know that the least we want to happen is for you not to be comfortable with your stay especially that you traveled with your family. Our staff was also assisting another guest in an urgent situation- (locked in their room) and we are sorry that they were not able to answer your calls. We are also saddened that you felt uncomfortable during breakfast, the flat screen was right above our breakfast stands and with other guest and some staff talking about the missing plane in the news made you feel that they are looking at you. Please be assured that we want you to enjoy a fulfilling and satisfying breakfast as well as a comfortable and relaxing stay. Feel free to contact us if we can be of assistance in the future and hope for another opportunity to deliver superior services that you expected from our Hotel. Please do consider us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

So many places to stay in Carmel / Monterey but I was looking for an affordable place to sleep for one night. This place was rated at a good price and had good reviews. Plus it is close to route 1.

Nice spacious room fully equiped with comfortable King size bed and clean bathroom. What else do you really need? Though the bathroom was clean, there was a funky smell like urine or something in the bathroom of room 104. Kept bathroom door closed so not an issue for one night.

Did not check out the breakfast since I left early. Got something to eat in Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. Had #104 and I think there was a family with young kids on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of your recent visit at our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed a great value stay with comfort and satisfaction. Your feedback regarding the bathroom smell will be immediately taken care of and this will be taken seriously as we want you to experience a more relaxing stay in the future. Please do advise our staff of your room preference and we will be more than happy to assist you. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.