We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    262
    103
    18
    12
See reviews for
194
235
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I didn't have any problems compared to other reviewers. Staff were friendly, room was pretty basic as expected but it was clean. Free wifi inside.

Breakfast seemed very basic so I did not try it out.

Directly across the street is a nice mall so at least it's located in a decent spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It is refreshing to receive a feedback regarding your comfortable stay at our hotel. Having a stay attended by our friendly staff as well as a clean room to rest and a warm breakfast are basically the main aspects that we continually want our guests to enjoy and find worth spending for. We appreciate your time in writing this review and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

a little too far from the center but good place to stop. Really close to a big and very nice mall and the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your positive experience at our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Like all the hotels / motels along Munras, you pay a lot during the weekend for an average room. Although the rooms were clean another couple traveling with us had to wait almost an hour for their room to be ready. Additionally, although we requested a reasonable delay in checking out since we were running in a marathon the morning of departure, the manager was very difficult to work with in accommodating our request. Very inflexible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize if the customer service provided during your stay did not exceed your expectations. We are striving our best to delight and satisfy our customers and to hear such comments is really saddening. We will evaluate on what happened that day to serve you much better next time you decide to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.