We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and free parking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value and free parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights during a winter break trip. The room was very comfortable and clean, and a good value. There was some construction going on nearby but didn't bother us much as we got up and went exploring. Loved the free parking, and had a short drive into Monterey to see the wharf and aquarium. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. we hope to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    262
    103
    18
    12
See reviews for
194
235
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Located near the A1, not far from a big mall this motel has the advantage of providing an easy exit out of the city but is still a walking distance from the cannery wraf and the aquarium (about 20 minutes walk).
The rooms are comfortable and clean. If you get a room on the ground floor make sure it is not close to the ice machine.
No problems with parking. The staff very friendly. Breakfast is standard .
Bottom line: a good place to stay at.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staff is friendly, and rooms are decent, however the sound of this place is pretty terrible. If its not the street that you hear (traffic is very audible) the construction is such that every door closing or bump into the wall is heard loud, clear, and somewhat startling. Sleep was fine after I turned on the in room fan. Not the greatest experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent value at the Super 8! We stayed here on a Saturday night. The service was great, the rooms were clean, and free wireless internet was provided. No elevator to get to the second floor but carrying a suitcase up a flight of stairs was not a big deal. The breakfast wasn't spectacular but certainly was all that we were looking for - cereal, coffee, danishs, waffles, and bread. If we're in the area again we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest, We pride our hotel's cleanliness and always try to offer excellent service. We are glad you enjoy our property, and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.