We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and free parking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value and free parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights during a winter break trip. The room was very comfortable and clean, and a good value. There was some construction going on nearby but didn't bother us much as we got up and went exploring. Loved the free parking, and had a short drive into Monterey to see the wharf and aquarium. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. we hope to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Located near the A1, not far from a big mall this motel has the advantage of providing an easy exit out of the city but is still a walking distance from the cannery wraf and the aquarium (about 20 minutes walk).
The rooms are comfortable and clean. If you get a room on the ground floor make sure it is not close to the ice machine.
No problems with parking. The staff very friendly. Breakfast is standard .
Bottom line: a good place to stay at.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dvl_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staff is friendly, and rooms are decent, however the sound of this place is pretty terrible. If its not the street that you hear (traffic is very audible) the construction is such that every door closing or bump into the wall is heard loud, clear, and somewhat startling. Sleep was fine after I turned on the in room fan. Not the greatest experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent value at the Super 8! We stayed here on a Saturday night. The service was great, the rooms were clean, and free wireless internet was provided. No elevator to get to the second floor but carrying a suitcase up a flight of stairs was not a big deal. The breakfast wasn't spectacular but certainly was all that we were looking for - cereal, coffee, danishs, waffles, and bread. If we're in the area again we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJchacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest, We pride our hotel's cleanliness and always try to offer excellent service. We are glad you enjoy our property, and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#31 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.8 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#24 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing