Customer service is severely lacking at this establishment. Flying in and arriving late very late from NY, we were staying here only for the location convenience. As we were getting in very late, I called before we got on the plane to confirm our rooms were set. We were good to go. Mid-flight, I was able to check my email and saw that I had an email from the hotel saying they had to let my rooms go because my credit card did not go through. In the rush of leaving for this vacation, I had forgotten the credit card I used to secure the room had unauthorized purchases made on it, and the credit card company had over nighted me a new card and number prior to leaving for vacation. We landed for a lay over, I immediately called to explain the situation and to give my replacement card number and offered to share the correspondence from my credit card company stating that indeed, my credit card had been compromised and I was issued a new card.
In the 45 minutes since they sent the email, and I called in to give new credit card number, they had “to give my two rooms away to walk in customers” I booked these rooms well in advance at roughly $50 a night.
They could however still accommodate me with rooms as they had “at least 10 rooms available” but I would have to pay a rate of $99 – double my original cost.. I was told I should be happy that I was given the $99 rate, as the regular rate for walk ins was $159 at that point. Why couldn’t they hold my room, the room I had confirmed hours early and give the higher priced rooms to walk ins?
I could care less about the money...it’s the principal, and this was an absolute, complete scam. The manager can say all he wants about company policy. But sometimes, it’s more important to be a compassionate human - especially in a customer service oriented field. At least make it seem like you’re out of rooms.. don’t tell me you had 10 more rooms available, but need to charge me double now.
PS. Location was great as we knew it would be, but the rooms are very dated and smelled like mold.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorry for your inconvenience. We understand your frustration and anger. Due to our franchise policy any credit card that's is invalid or declined, as a hotel owner / Manager we have the right to sell the rooms. You mention that you called to confirm your reservation but unfortunately you did not mentioned at that time the loss of your credit card. Its the guest responsibility to let the hotel know of any changes and the problem would have been solved right then and there. You were offered a 2king bed suite as that is what we had available at that time. We were sold out and We did not have the same type of room you booked if we would of have them we would have gladly giving them to you.Once again our apology for what had happen but, we have to follow our policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.