We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfy and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We regularly travel to northern California and need a place to sleep along the way. We have stayed at this Super 8 twice and will surely come back to stay again.

The woman at the front desk is nice and helpful. She was able to get us a deal on a room without us even having to ask.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are well sized, the shower has good water pressure, and shampoo, conditioner, and soap are provided.

Beds and pillows are comfortable. The heater/air conditioner is easy to use and keeps the room cozy or cool, depending on your preferences. Mini fridge and microwave in the room are useful.

The hotel is right across the street from a shopping center.

The only drawback is the parking lot which, if you arrive to your room at night, may be full. We squeezed into a spot for a compact car last time (I have a RAV4). However, this shouldn't stop you from staying.

Excellent accommodations for the money. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    252
    98
    17
    12
See reviews for
175
219
33
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travelled with my son. Tried to upgrade our room from one king to 2 beds,with one of your coupons I saw on line. The manager (mike) refused saying that my room had to be booked through you. I explained that trip advisor is not a booking agent and it was was booked through an agent (Hotels.com) referred by you.He then said that there was no availability, because there was a ' marathon ' happening. I later checked on line and saw that there were rooms available also spoke to people in the city who said "there was no marathon race organised. We had planned to stay another night and booked a room with 2 beds with him which he said will be available the next day. However when we found out he had lied about the upgrade & availability, we checked out after i night & drove onto Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8mry, Mike at Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I am sorry but We can not make changes to 3rd party reservation. We also advice on TripAdvisor to guest make reservation at www.super8.com or hotel directly. If you come on Big Sur Marathon its busy for us. Please look at the add on TripAdvisor.com. Again I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stay in Monterey M-F for work. My co-worker also stayed here, and I assumed his reservation. The Super 8 is a very good value for the rate that Mike (the manager) is able to provide. You will not find this value anywhere else along Munras!

Mike and his staff are extremely helpful and accomodating.

The wi-fi network is very reliable and the rooms are spacious. Refrigerators and microwaves appear to be standard in every room. The shopping center across the street is convenient with restaurants and other retail stores. Easy access to the freeway, Carmel or Sand City are less than 10 minutes away.

I would definitely recommend this Super 8 for the business traveler and tourists alike.

Room Tip: No elevator, so request room on first floor if this will be an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Everything worked well, intuitively. The parking was close to the room. The heater/air conditioner had the settings needed, easily accessible. The room was well carpeted, the king bed firm, adequate lights, hangers, luggage racks, outlets in plain view. Refrigerator and microwave, TV and remote. The staff had helpful advice; based on their say, we reversed the order of our planned visits in Carmel and Monterey. I had trouble getting back to Munras using multiple maps, but finally made it with some advice from an attendant at the Marriott. Didn't make it to the continental breakfast. Checkout time is 11 a.m., a bit on the early side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed only for one night, as Monterey was one of our stops during our roadtrip. Check in was fast and the girl at the counter gave us information about the area. There is a big shopping center across the street, the hotel has an excellent location. I saw many hotels in the same area as well. Room had 2 rooms. I really appreciate they have 2 sinks: one inside the bathroom with the shower and toliet and one in the room. Beds were nice. Continental breakfast was included, very basic, but at least we had something to eat before hitting the road. I would definitely stay here once again, as it was reasonably priced and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.