We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern motel in a quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Monterey/Carmel to your Saves list
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Modern motel in a quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Arrived at sunset on a Sunday evening without reservations, so we paid a few dollars more than an online booking. Still managed to get the last upstairs room available.

Room looks new (flatscreen TV with satelite channels). Not much behind the building, so you can keep the bathroom window open. Parking can get a little tight. Good, well-stocked breakfast room.

Room Tip: Two-story building, so upstairs is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    276
    113
    21
    14
See reviews for
197
259
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

from the smiling face at reception to the have a good trip at check out, these people get it. Service is everything. This was one of the best motel stays we have had. The people made it so. Keep up the great work. This motel sets the high standard the rest should strive for.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here on July 2011 with my family (2 children). The hotel is very nice: flowers outside, violet bouganville plants, nice swimming pool and wide parking. The room was very nice and clean. The place was quiet. At the reception they were kind and gave us a nice breakfast in the morning, that you can also bring outside near the pool! I surely would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I had the best time. The rooms were cleaned and smelled fresh, the pool was clean and was great to swim in. Mike was really helpful by recommending a places to eat and great site seeing. Our next trip to Monterey we will be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My friends and I began coming to the Monterey Jazz Festival three years ago. I searched the internet and found this place. I chose it the first time because of the ease of getting to the festival. We were far more than pleasantly surprised by the Super 8 Monterey/Carmel. My group really liked the place: value, location, convenience, services,cleanliness and friendly/efficient staff. It is very easy to get to Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Del Monte shopping plaza and the jazz festival shuttle from the property. This was our third stay and we have made our reservation for next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed at the Super 8 Monterey/Carmel for two nights, based on the good reviews the property received on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. The property was well maintained, the flowers and landscaping lush and inviting, the room was very clean and comfortable. It is very conveniently located on Munras Ave, just off Route 1, and the Del Monte shopping plaza just across the road (with a Whole Foods market, Starbucks, UPS Store, Pottery Barn, etc.) was very handy but not at all obtrusive. I never noticed the traffic on the road overnight, so my stay truly was undisturbed. I can't think of a better way to enjoy a comfortable and convenient, very budget-friendly stay in the area in what otherwise can be a very pricey region for hotels - I'd return again without hesitation and would recommend it to others who are watching their costs. It's a great option in a very good location - very easy access to downtown Monterey and its attraction, or Carmel and Pebble Beach, which are just minutes down the road, as well as other communities along the Route 1 corridor on the Monterey Peninsula. The manager couldn't have been more cordial or accommodating - what more could a visitor ask? The Super 8 at 1300 Munras is a terrific hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel was a previous Best Western property - I know this because I forgot to update my GPS and only found the hotel (using the hotel list) because I happened to see the address under a different name. Thats just FYI - not their problem.

The property and room were in good, clean condition, but I booked online and all they had left was a king suite - $15 more to have a couch and end table crammed in - which we didn't need or want. My sister (traveling with us) got a king room - which I believe was the same size room - $15 less (but then she had roosters outside her bathroom window that woke them up at some way too early hour). This was my only concern for the value.

Both rooms had a problem with the Wi-Fi not working.

Overall - it was a satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: No elevator, stairs were steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey/Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave., Hwy 68/1, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey/Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Monterey/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.