We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Monterey, Dog Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Inn Monterey

Save Saved
You added Pacific Inn Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2332 N Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Ramona Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Affordable Monterey, Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a reasonable room rate, especially if you are travelling with your dog. The pool has been converted to a grassy dog run. The location is convenient for getting around the peninsula, and Bill, the innkeeper, is friendly and fun. It's basic accomodations, nothing fancy, but I would recommend it if you don't want to spent alot on your room. The Black Bear Diner, a delicious option for breakfast, is only a few blocks away, and there is a good local produce mart across the street. I have stayed in a charming B&B in Pacific Grove, but it's isolated and you have to drive to get any food. So it's more convenient at this Best Western.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
27
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Monterey can be an very expensive place to stay, especially in the summer. Thankfully, there are value-priced places like the Ramona Inn to make staying in the area possible for the budget conscious traveler.

Is this the nicest hotel you will ever stay in? I hope not. But it is clean, quiet, and the manager is one of friendliest and most helpful you'll ever come across. It's located near the highway, on a commercial strip, but you'll need to drive to visit any of the attractions the Peninsula has to offer.

Are there better places to stay in Monterey? Of course! But by staying at this property we saved 40% a night over the next viable option. For that kind of value, it would be unfair to complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was average. The room seemed to be clean, but it smelled of humidity. Only 5 seats in the breakfast room. You need to take your car to get around. It was okay for one night but I'm not sure I would be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On our Southwest tour with final destination San Francisco, we stayed one night at the BW Ramona Inn in Monterey. Above all we got an extremely friendly welcome by the Manager. He gave us a lot of information for restaurants and sightseeing and he made our first contact with this place an enjoyable one. The room was OK. Quite spacious and clean and quiet. Good complimentary breakfast. We liked this place and should we return to Monterey, the BW Ramona Inn will again be our first choice! For dinner we went to an outstanding restaurant called "The Sardine Factory". Great setting, excellent food and top service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We look for clean, comfortable, value priced places to stay in safe areas. This one fits the bill very well. Bill was really accomdating at check-in, letting us check out the room before we did anything. It's an older BW, but spotlessly clean and everything worked. He gave us some great tips for traveling on the rest of our vacation and directed us to the Black Bear Diner just down the street for a really good family style meal at reasonable prices. If you're looking for a 5 Star place with Valet parking and all the rest, this isn't it, but if you want a clean, comfortable place run by folks who seem to care and charge reasonable prices, stay with Bill at this BW.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is ok for a 1 night stay, but I wouldn’t go longer than that. The manager is a real nice guy and delivered excellent customer service. However, the hotel itself is very dated and dumpy. The TV/Satellite system that they use is very complex and the remote control doesn’t work properly for it. I think you need a degree to operate the thing. The ice machine was broken, which was a bummer since we were needing to fill our ice chest with perishables and sodas. Breakfast is more like a morning snack. The breakfast sitting room is very small with only a couple of tables to sit at.

The location of the hotel is actually decent. It’s about 1.5 miles back to the highway. However, there are 3 Best Western properties on the street along that stretch. So you really have to pay attention to which one you turn into. There’s a 7-11 across the street, a CVS down the road and a couple of restaurants nearby. Neighborhood is safe, but not much to see other than chain hotels/motels.

If I was just passing through, this hotel would be fine for that. If I wanted to spend more time in Monterey, I’d definitely look for something else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Couldn't have had better service a huge spotless room , very friendly staff , great choice of breakfast . You would need a car to get into the centre otherwise it is a two mile walk nice during the day . Would reccommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Ramona Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Address: 2332 N Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.