We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Price OK for Monterey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Inn Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Inn Monterey to your Saves list
Pacific Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2332 N Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Ramona Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Price OK for Monterey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was an unusual property, The space for the whole complex was so small. Some parking was tight and angled in odd ways. This was not necessarily bad unless you were trying to get in a tight spot but there is a small lot in front . Some of the photos provided by other travelers are accurate. One photo that is not accurate is the Breakfast Room photo that was provided by the property itself. The breakfast room was TINY only providing 2 small round tables and maybe 8 chairs. It was a small wedge shaped room about the size of a large walk-in closet. The food selection was adequate, but not outstanding. Many people came and went having no place to sit, rather carrying breakfast to their room The photo provided by the hotel totally does not look like this property. There were no white stair cases through the window unless there was another Breakfast room. The desk clerk showed us the one I described and the guests were using the location as I described and other guests photographed. All that said, the location was nice for a quick drive to the harbor. The rate first quoted was too high, but the clerk honored the coupon price making it acceptable. The room was large enough and clean. Although the bathtub drain plug did not work. The personnel were nice and accommodating fulfilling a special request quickly and easily. Yes, I would stay again, provided the price was the coupon price. For supper we were directed down the street to Black Bear Diner. (That was a great recommendation) fyi The info we had, mentioned a pool at this property. The pool is not longer there but filled in with grass growing for a fenced in doggy run! Overall a neat and clean property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    38
    16
    15
See reviews for
37
56
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spent one night at the Ramona Inn during a road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles in August 2012. I think it's an average hotel (motel?) but it's clean and comfortable enough. I'd probably stay elsewhere if I go to Monterey again but anyone that needs a hotel for one night in the area can safely stay at Ramona Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean, comfortable, well furnished & maintained & all at a great price too! The staff were very accommodating allowing us to check in early on the day of our arrival & we also requested a bottom level room as we had a lot of luggage that we didn't want to lug upstairs which the hotel was happy to accommodate us with. The location was also great, a short drive into the main part of Monterey & also convenient if you were going to the Moto GP at Laguna Seca & the beach is also a short drive away. The manager of the hotel was also a pleasure to deal with giving us tips on where to eat & local sites & attractions to visit. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean, odor-free and comfortable room. Well-appointed amenities. Entry-level desk staff was very nice but made several minor mistakes, fortunately the owner is very personable and usually around to resolve matters. The sink drain runs slow, as others have reported; in need of a trap cleaning. Everything else was in very good order. My wife and I are picky guests but we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I knew we were in trouble when we drove up. The property looks like it has seen much better days - a long time ago. The Best Western website described it as having a pool and spa - the reason we picked it - and it had neither!!! The clerk said that they had been gone for awhile and that they have tried to get the website updated - guess they aren't trying hard enough. The room was unimpressive. The stairs leading to the room were shaky and very steep. The breakfast room was so small that our family of five filled it up! The food was typical Best Western. I wrote a letter complaining and got an interesting reply offering to try harder the next time I stay there - they don't have to worry I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Outstanding guest reception and overall extremely friendly treatment. Arrived about noon for a 2-night stay. Two employees were immediately sent to prepare my requested room, early. The room was clean, neat and quiet. Parked my car just outside the door to my room. A variety of fresh fruits, cereals, cook them yourself waffles, bagels, muffins and beverages were available for their continental breakfasts. However, the muffins were not fresh the first morning and none were available the second morning. The wifi signal was strong, but as is common in most hotels (high end to low end) the Internet speeds were very slow. Download speed was 0.19 Mbps and upload was 0.30 Mbps. Using a secure VPN server, download speed was 0.79 Mbps and upload was 0.17 Mbps. Global average download speed was 10.53 Mbps.

Room Tip: Rooms near the office offered the strongest wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Bill the owner/manager was more than helpful during our stay. He makes sure every guest feels very welcome and is incredibly responsive to any need.

The hotel is remarkably quiet even though it is on the main road. Rooms are clean and well cared for and the overall hotel is well maintained. Care is taken with the grounds.

Breakfast is the standard Best Western Continental which is pretty substantial. Overall good value and exceptional service with a "Can do" attitude.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Address: 2332 N Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.