We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed of several on N Fremont St.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Inn Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Inn Monterey to your Saves list
Pacific Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2332 N Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Ramona Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Reston, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed of several on N Fremont St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean, odor-free and comfortable room. Well-appointed amenities. Entry-level desk staff was very nice but made several minor mistakes, fortunately the owner is very personable and usually around to resolve matters. The sink drain runs slow, as others have reported; in need of a trap cleaning. Everything else was in very good order. My wife and I are picky guests but we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    47
    17
    15
See reviews for
52
63
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I knew we were in trouble when we drove up. The property looks like it has seen much better days - a long time ago. The Best Western website described it as having a pool and spa - the reason we picked it - and it had neither!!! The clerk said that they had been gone for awhile and that they have tried to get the website updated - guess they aren't trying hard enough. The room was unimpressive. The stairs leading to the room were shaky and very steep. The breakfast room was so small that our family of five filled it up! The food was typical Best Western. I wrote a letter complaining and got an interesting reply offering to try harder the next time I stay there - they don't have to worry I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Outstanding guest reception and overall extremely friendly treatment. Arrived about noon for a 2-night stay. Two employees were immediately sent to prepare my requested room, early. The room was clean, neat and quiet. Parked my car just outside the door to my room. A variety of fresh fruits, cereals, cook them yourself waffles, bagels, muffins and beverages were available for their continental breakfasts. However, the muffins were not fresh the first morning and none were available the second morning. The wifi signal was strong, but as is common in most hotels (high end to low end) the Internet speeds were very slow. Download speed was 0.19 Mbps and upload was 0.30 Mbps. Using a secure VPN server, download speed was 0.79 Mbps and upload was 0.17 Mbps. Global average download speed was 10.53 Mbps.

Room Tip: Rooms near the office offered the strongest wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Bill the owner/manager was more than helpful during our stay. He makes sure every guest feels very welcome and is incredibly responsive to any need.

The hotel is remarkably quiet even though it is on the main road. Rooms are clean and well cared for and the overall hotel is well maintained. Care is taken with the grounds.

Breakfast is the standard Best Western Continental which is pretty substantial. Overall good value and exceptional service with a "Can do" attitude.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here! Nice, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The owner was very nice and made sure we had everything we needed. Nice breakfast as well. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights Feb 2012 - last room available - did nto realise it was the big golf event at Pebbles Beach, so the rate for the first night was a bit more expensive, but the Sunday night the rate was half. It was clean, affordable, and convenient. Carpet could do with replacing. Continental breakfast good: Manager accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel was one of the first stops on a road trip from San Francisco to LA via Highway 1. It was clean and affordable. I'd recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Address: 2332 N Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.