We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice quiet hotel, walking distance to downtown and wharf. Excellent parking options with upper & lower garages under the hotel. I booked this hotel because they offered a continental breakfast. It was not mentioned when we checked in and I never found a dining room or how to get to the pool area. The guys at the front desk were great; there was a lady who did not acknowledge our presence, much less answer questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    240
    93
    35
    12
See reviews for
189
208
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff was extremely friendly & accommodating; room was spotless; pool was small & needs updating; FREE full breakfast; no AC (but, even 5-star hotels in the area are w/out AC - a table fan was available upon check-in & rooms have ceiling fans & balcony doors w/screens); hotel was great value for the area (Monterey hotels are ALL over-priced); close to Monterey Bay Aquarium/Cannery Row; would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked at the last minute for three nights. Arrived with truck & trailer in tow to discover their spacious parking is in a multi level garage. Was able to park curbside so it worked ok. Room has the typical Best Western deodorizer which makes you think they are making someone smoking in a no smoking facility. Wireless worked most of the time. Linens felt good, but mattress felt lumpy and fixing sleep very well. Complementary breakfast was consumed by the large number of kids. Staff could not keep up with the kids eating. Coffee was good. Hot tub was hot! Pool good also, both just very small, and frequently over run with unsupervised kids. Water line in area broke before our arrival and water was brown. Not hotels fault. They did provide some free bottled water bug not until our 2nd day. Morning staff was pretty defensive about the problem instead of being apologetic. Could take a lesson in handling damage control. Couldn't make A/C work, no bath tub and shower is a small square. All in all, the hotel is probably one of the better facilities in town, at $160 and $200/ nite.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice Hotel , central Monterey , within walking distance to many Restaurants , the Beach . Great Parking Garage. Clean Rooms , great Bed , small Dining room , good selection for Breakfast but way to small facility. Coffee set up in room with real cups not plastic a nice tough , Fridge , microwave .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, AK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We didn't have a reservation and ended up with the last available room, which was handicapped accessible. We didn't need the accessibility, but it was great to have such a roomy room! We had some noisy neighbors (I swear somebody had what sounded like a pony galloping around above us!) but once they settled down we had no noise complaints. The breakfast was great, the staff was very helpful and friendly. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here with our nearly nine-year old grandson. The room had two queen-size beds, an ideal situation for us. The place was clean an we could walk to the wharf from it (which we did). The bathroom had all needed amenities. The free continental breakfast was located in a rather mall room. It had typical cerals, yogurt, eggs, waffles, coffee, tea, etc. Parking was under the building (space was available), and access between it and the hotel above was by elevator. One note - late evening, we could hear people walking and talking in the hallway, and could hear a child crying on a floor level above first floor accommodation. Not too loud but noticeable. After a while, it all stopped. Anyway, I was able to fall asleep.

Room Tip: Don't know - we were in a first floor room near the lobby, didn't hear people at elevator ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a very good and caring experience at this hotel. They made a potential embarrassing situation turn into a compassionate ending. It was a very unusually busy weekend and we were there for a wedding. We were given an early checkin so we could change clothing and freshen up before attending the ceremony. They made a late check out possible without any problem. These things helped our party very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#15 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.