We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but no A/C” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location but no A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were happy with the location - close walking distance to the wharf and downtown. The room was updated and clean! Even though I researched it I must've missed the "No A/C" or fans in room, making sleeping unbearably hot and loud. We heard every guest in the hotel and the early risers at breakfast. When we asked the front desk they said the other hotels on the peninsula don't have A/C either and we should just open our sliding door (which faced a busy street). They did offer a room upgrade at no charge after we were pretty upset. So bring a fan if you plan to stay here. You'd think for a $250 room they could provide you with something.

Breakfast is ok. Hot food was microwaved but better than most budget hotels' breakfast.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the end or one facing away from busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    260
    99
    39
    16
See reviews for
210
227
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was good. I liked the exterior of the hotel which was not what I expected from Best Western. The front desk staff was very nice. Even though my arrival was near midnight the front desk staff was awake and very responsive. The parking garage with elevators to the different floor levels is a nice touch after a long drive. The hallways were newly remodeled and did not have any weird smells. The room was very clean, had a very comfortable bed, and a ceiling fan. I really liked the room level wifi access point, and the separate desk and table. Although I was traveling for business I would stay here as well for pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel which is right on the beach, and had very friendly and helpful staff. Pay for the ocean view if you can; the Pacific will lull you to sleep and you may see sealions and dolphins. Yes, other reviewers are right; some updating is needed. Our room door got stuck, the toliet needed unblocking and the walkways are a bit tatty. But for a very reasonable rate, you get to stay at a lobely spot. Tip to visitors; if the fog comes in try driving to Carmel down the coast or to Santa Cruz for the boardwalk

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We assumed the hotel would be similar to many other Best Westerns we've been to over the years, perhaps slightly better since the rates were quite high. The room was big but definitely needed some updating. I was surprised when I got home to see that they charged $20 more than the rate we had reserved at. After inquiring twice, I was informed that they charged us for a cot, which was something we never used and something we never asked for. Nobody at the desk mentioned this when we checked in, and the hotel has yet to apologize or offer to remove the charge. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel features large corner rooms if requested, fireplaces available also. Much larger rooms than most hotels with garage parking under the building. Breakfast is included. Easy walking distance to downtown Monterey and only five minute drive to Aquarium, shops. Good value for the money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel was clean, plenty of parking, good crew working the front desk that were nice to talk to and informative. Our room was a large standard room at a decent price. No A/C but coastal CA is very comfortable (lower 70s for a high at the end of June). Breakfast was normal for a BW with plenty of choices. We did not make it to the pool, so no comment three. It was a good base to explore Monterey & Carmel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we first arrived we felt a bit away from things, but its an easy 15 minute stroll down to the Fisherman's Wharf. Cannery Row is also within walking distance but there is also a free shuttle trolley from town or the wharf. You pass many places to eat between the hotel and the wharf. Try Rosines if you are hungry- huge serves of delicious food (lots of families but also groups of adults and couples- mostly locals). Very popular.
We had a massive room- 2 double beds (only needed 1) with still room left to swing a cat. Our balcony overlooked the front of the hotel but the ones adjacent may have had some water views. there was a basic swimming pool for guest use. The room was clean and functional, as you would expect from a chain hotel. The car park was included in the cost and there was a fridge and coffee maker in the room.
The only disappointing thing was the breakfast. Not so much the food (cereals, pasties, bread/toast, fruit, yoghurts and a selection of hot dishes) but the room it was served in and how it was served.
Firstly, the room was tiny. The hotel is quite large and most people staying there want their breakfast as it is included in the cost. Loads of people, and no where to sit. Secondly, it is totally unnecessary to serve on paper/plastic plates with plastic cutlery. This is a huge waste and I felt terrible binning my plate, cutlery and coffee cup. Hello, ground fill? It could not have been recycled as food and rubbish all went into the one bin.
As I said, the food was fine. Quite nice actually, but we chose to skip breakfast and find somewhere else on our second day. I guess that don't have an area to wash plates etc, Disappointing in this day and age to see such wastage.

So, the room was fine, good value and clean. The location was good. It was actually nice to have the walk home after dinners out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
2.2 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#37 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.