We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and great option for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Pleasant Hill, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great option for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at my stay here. Sometimes BW can be a bit budget in the rooms and amenities. Though their is another BW up the street that is probably more on the budget side, the Monterey Inn is definitely a nice one. For those not familiar, don't confuse the two motels. The other is on Munras but Abrego forks off and you could be confused. I stayed mid week in 302 on the 3rd floor. Maybe a bit too close to the ice machine so you may want to ask to be further away. Otherwise, the room was great. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable, had wireless internet, coffee maker, and balcody so you can get fresh air. I didn't need A/C so if you go in summer/fall with warm temps, you might want to see if there is A/C as it could get warm. They didn't have a ceiling fan. I also loved how the bathroom had a motion detector so if you went into the bathroom in the middle of the night, a very low nightlight came on so you could see but not be blinded. Loved that! Continental breakfast was more substantial than most - hot eggs/french toast or pancakes, muffins/bagels/toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee. Can't ask for much more when it is free. indoor free parking with elevator access. I paid $103/ night online though I know summer and weekends would be higher. I didn't use the pool but it was on the small side. Not really where I would want to hang out - but who cares since I would spend time in town and on the beach! Can't beat the value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    165
    67
    21
    8
See reviews for
131
132
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had originally planned to stay in Carmel, at an Inn suggested to us by family; we arrived after 8pm & they wanted to charge us full price for the night, we assumed as it was late & unlikely they would fill all rooms on a Sunday night, we would get a decent discount. So we proceeded to Monterey. We used our GPS to find "nearby hotels" & found the Best Western Plus. We were quite happy to hear that they were willing to discount the room for us!!! Our room was very nice, big, clean & comfortable. The underground parking is nice as well. I woke up sick the next morning & was slow to start, when I got to the breakfast room the ladies were cleaning everything up & asked if I wanted anything, they would grab it for me, very nice!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A typical Best Western Plus. The rooms are a good size, location is quite good, though you will still have to drive to the hot spots in the city and the waterfront. The property is a little older with panel doors, etc, but it is very clean, freshly painted and has a nice lobby and pool area. Quite a busy road, but close the balcony door and it is silent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a trip down the coast in September 2012. We had booked one night but like it so much we stayed an extra day. The place is clean and very well maintained. Our room was large and decorated nicely, noise was minimal and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was a pleasant surpise after getting some iffy places the couple nights before this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived in Montery on 8th September 2012 for two nights. We had booked ahead and when we arrived we were given room 116. This is a huge room on the ground floor. It has a balcony at the side( no outside furniture) and another sliding door at the front, both of which have bug screens. The beds, bathroom and everything were spotless and very comfortable. Complimentary wifi and parking are always welcome. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Room Tip: Room 116 is a very big room, it has a table and chairs in the room with plenty of room to move aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We drive into Monterey without hotel reservations and booked here. We asked to view the room first and were sent up to the top(3rd) floor and were very pleasantly surprised to find brand new renos. Everything from the furniture to the tissue box was brand new. The room even had a fireplace, for you romantic folk.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Have stayed here twice. Always clean. The only downer is there is no a/c in the rooms. I guess this is okay for the winter time, but we get a little heated during the summer months. Some of the rooms have fireplaces, very romantic:) Just your usual breakfast, muffins, fruit, eggs.....ok. Nice location if you are willing to walk a couple of blocks over to the night life. We popped in at a few bars/pubs and had drinks and walked back to our room. I will stay here again in the fall, but Summer, I hear the hotel right next door has a/c. My girlfriend stayed there and loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.