We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and toddler during a trip to Monterey in July. We settled on this hotel because it was well-located and fairly affordable. I haven't stayed at a Best Western in years and was surprised at how nice this one was for the price point. It certainly is not a luxury hotel, but we were comfortable here and in good proximity to the sights of Monterey. There were definitely a couple of drawbacks, as well, but overall it was a good experience.

The hotel is located in a convenient part of town. It's a quick drive to Dennis the Menace Park (key, if you're traveling with kids) and the aquarium. It's not hugely scenic here, though. We had a view of the back of other buildings and thus never really bothered to open our window, but proximity to the sights of Monterey was what we were really after. This is definitely not a beachside hotel, as mentioned in some earlier reviews (clearly misfiled). Once we arrived, it didn't take long to check in and park our car in the garage under the hotel. You take your own bags to your room here, but there were plenty of carts available for luggage. We had requested an oversized room and were given a very large room on the first floor, just down the hall from the lobby. If you're traveling with kids, this extra space is absolutely worth the small additional fee. We were able to spread out and be really comfortable. The room was nicely appointed. It looked very clean and furnishings were in pretty good shape. There was a small fridge, which I always appreciate. However, there were two downsides to the room. One was that the carpet throughout the room was slightly damp. That was icky. I assumed that it had just been shampooed prior to our arrival and would dry out soon enough, but it never really did during our stay. Also, the previous comments about thin walls are accurate. We definitely could hear our neighbors, particularly when they opened and closed closet doors or raised their voices. Fortunately, this never happened late at night and we slept well. Despite these two issues, we really did enjoy the space and felt very comfortable relaxing there.

There is a complimentary breakfast off the lobby in the morning. There were lots of options and we all found something we liked. It's not gourmet, but it's free and was perfectly fine. The people at the front desk were nice and always helpful when we asked for anything. Wireless was easily accessed in our hotel room. We visited the pool, which is not fancy, but was absolutely fine for our little guy.

During our stay, we walked across the street to Wild Plum Cafe and the food was wonderful there. It was nice to have a great cafe within walking distance. Other than breakfast, there is no food service at the hotel.

The upside of convenient location and good price point trumped the two minor complaints I had about our room in the end. We felt that this hotel exceeded our expectations and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request an oversized room for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    254
    99
    37
    16
See reviews for
203
224
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We just stayed one night on the way to SF. Checked in late and the staff was very friendly. We had a whale watch cruise in the morning and I asked if it was ok to leave the car in the parking lot until later the next day - not a problem at all. Very clean room, nothing bad to say about this place at all!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel was clean and well located, but was only average. It is located on a main street, but was very quiet at night. The room was typical one, with 2 queens and small bath. Continental breakfast included. The staff here were very helpful and had many suggestions about activities in the area. If spending more time in Monterey, would recommend staying closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a very clean hotel that has not been updated for a while. Rooms are very spacious. No AC (although this was not a problem as the sliding glass doors open to a tiny deck that is impossible for anyone to reach unless they were "on belay"). Very close to the Wharf and a short easy drive to Cannery Row. Complementary breakfast was surprisingly good. Best amenity - free parking. Some neighbor noise, be sure to bring your white noise machine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family of three stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is an older hotel which needs an update in its decor. Free parking in the underground lot -- never had a problem finding a space. Our room (with two queen beds) was comfortable and clean. We had only one problem with the shower-- the water pressure was terrible and the water temperature was not consistent. Complimentary breakfast was offered in a crowded room next to the reception desk. There is free in-room internet access and a mini-fridge.

Hotel staff at the front desk was friendly. When we asked for a restaurant recommendation, we were given 3 choices, along with coupons for an appetizer.

From the hotel, it is about a 15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf (parking is limited in the area near the wharf -- so walking is recommended). It is about a 10 minute drive to Cannery Row (you can find free unrestricted on-street parking about 5 blocks away; otherwise, parking in a lot by Cannery Row can be expensive).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hotel easy to find. Walking distance to Monterey attractions (about 10/15 minutes). Rooms for fine, we were at the back, so quiet but no view. Was abit noisy at night, we could hear everyone walking in the corridor and talking in next rooms.Breakfast not up to much, but did the job. Many people took a tray back to their room as it could ger full. Staff helpful when asking for directions. i asked why it was a "plus", it was just because of the breakfast, not sure it warrented that. Pool didn't look too attractive, all concrete.One PC in the lobby, had to wit your turn.
It was Ok, not sure I'd stay again though

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here last week when I came to CA to visit her. This is an older hotel but it is one of the cleanest I have ever seen - bathtub, toilet, tile, bedding, countertops, floors - were spotless/immaculate and I am a clean freak. The bedding was fresh and clean smelling (I always inspect first). The mattress and pillows were so comfortable and the sheets so soft that both my daughter and I immediately fell asleep in our beds after a long day of driving - the most comfortable beds ever. Our complimentary breakfast the next morning was hearty and delicious. I had scrambled eggs with cheese, a delicious buttered biscuit and 3 slices of thick applewood bacon with my coffee; my more health conscious daughter had a muffin with yogurt. We paid $200 for our oceanside room and unless we were actually standing IN the surf, we could not have been closer to it. Wonderful, clean, quiet, safe hotel. My daughter stays here a lot as part of her sales territory. I highly recommend this hotel and I am VERY picky about cleanliness, safety, etc. This older hotel is perfectly charming and SUPER CLEAN.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.