We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riverside, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you manage to get a room facing the ocean, you're totally in luck. The views are beautiful, and it can be quiet. However, if you get a room on the opposite of the hotel, beware. The highway noise kept me awake. I had to move rooms twice - the first room the air conditioning unit was not working, and the second room was too noisy for me to sleep. They finally upgraded me to an ocean view room and I could sleep. The hotel could use an upgrade - the rooms had a tired and overused feel to them. Staff were helpful and responsive. There is not a lot immediately around the hotel for restaurants or other services. I did not have a car (business trip) and felt stuck with nothing to do.

Room Tip: Request ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Lynn, thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our fantastic beach views, and we are happy we could accommodate you with an upgraded room. We do apologize for any noise disruptions and other inconveniences that may have affected your stay. We hope you will return to visit us again next time you are in Monterey. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    461
    282
    148
    90
See reviews for
471
500
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel has the potential to be a great place to stay, but..... it is undergoing a renovation. The restaurant was closed, and a substitute area used for eating. The food was good, but it just wasn't a restaurant you'd expect here. The construction goes from 10 am - 6 pm and it is noisy, noisy. The walkways are apparently being replaced, and have been torn up, resulting in uneven and dusty areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Jack, thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for leaving us your feedback. We do apologize for any inconvenience our construction caused during your stay. We invite you back to visit us again for a beach stay next time you are in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The view is spectacular and the beach is directly below with easy access. BUT I was not notified of the construction that went on daily from 9AM until 4PM. I brought my family there to relax and unwind. The noise from the construction was EXTREMELY disturbing and it didn't matter whether we were at the pool, on the beach or in our room. The noise from the jack hammer, drills, etc there was NO escape from. I had called beforehand to request an early check in, someone should have mentioned how terrible and disruptive to peace and tranquility the construction was!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Andrea, we thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are terribly sorry that our construction disrupted your stay in any way. We do want our hotel to provide a relaxing stay by the beach for all of our guests, so we apologize that this was not the case for your family. Thank you again for joining us during your stay in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We love this hotel. But the nights we stayed there was horrible because of construction. Should have told us how bad it is. Memorial day construction will be over. The beds give you a back ache if your older. Extremely loud noise from jack hammers in front of our room Stains on the rug when we walked in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Therese, we thank you for providing your feedback for us and for being a guest of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach location. However, we do sincerely apologize for how our construction affected your stay. Luckily, it is only temporary; but we are disappointed that we could not provide the comfortable and enjoyable stay that you deserve. We do hope you will visit us again in the future for a stay by the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location, lousy stay ! Undergoing major concrete work so drills and hammering going on all day long ! Horrible ..we arrived on a Sunday so no workers but they started in full force on Monday ..rooms are run down with dis colored sheets...major redo needed...sorry we stayed here. I also feel that staff should have told us about construction before we booked in spirit of full disclosure

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We truly apologize for the disturbance our construction caused during your stay. In an effort to update our property, we are sorry that it affected your stay with us. We do invite you to visit us again once it's completed to fully enjoy our beach location. We thank you for being a guest of ours and for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel is extremely run down and in need of a COMPLETE renovation. It should be closed down while renovations are being completed. The room was filthy and outer corridors were a major safety issue. The overall property was in disrepair. There were construction crews on site and the noise was unbearable. It scared our 10 moth old baby and he would not sleep. Construction noise began at 7:50am and was non-stop during the day. The construction was going on right above our room (room 350). The walls were shaking from large equipment being used above us. It was a trip planned for my wife's 40th birthday. I was promised a top floor room (I saved the emails from LaTina), but we were placed on the third floor with that awful construction above us. How are you going to book a room with constant unbearable noise directly above? I was also promised some wine in our room and a microwave oven (they would try and get a microwave oven). There was no wine in the room and the microwave oven was left outside the room on top of the air conditioning unit. I had to carry the microwave into the room and find a place to set it up. The room service food was awful. We ordered crusted sea bass and the filet arrived smashed. We also order the beef sliders and they arrived burnt and the buns were cold and hard as a rock. Absolutely unacceptable. Trust the other reviews. Don't stay here. Much nicer hotels in area for same rate and close to beaches/ocean. I am sure the hotel management will reply to this review trying to justify the inexcusable conditions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Matthew, we are terribly disappointed to read that we failed to provide you with an exceptional guest experience while at our hotel. We apologize that we were not able to provide you with the kind of relaxing experience you deserve. Our construction is part of our efforts for renovation, but we do apologize for the disturbance and inconvenience it caused your family. We also are sorry to hear that your room service was not up to par, as that is not the level of quality and service we typically provide. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and we will address them accordingly within our team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is older and was undergoing some construction while we were there for business. The manager hosts a wine and cheese reception every night in the lobby to make up for construction. Pay the extra and get a beach front room. The lull of the ocean at night is well-worth the extra money, and if you don't, I am afraid that you'll hear cars on the other side of the hotel. One thing that irritated me was the lack of automatic doors throughout the hotel. You had to struggle to get your luggage through the door each time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodations of our beach front room. We thank you for bearing with us during our construction for improvements to our property. We hope you enjoyed your Monterey stay and will be back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey's only beach-front full service hotel, The Beach Resort Monterey boasts some of the most expansive views available of the Monterey Bay. Blending California beach casual with superior comfort and professionalism, the Beach Resort Monterey offers a relaxing alternative from the distractions of downtown, with the convenience of being only minutes away from the areas favorite attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.